'Chinese' Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Having a French Canadian mom that loved mashed potatoes meant we had Pate Chinois weekly in winter! For a really quick meal, I'll double it, use the frozen mashed potatoes (no peeling required) and make an extra for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joakleyjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I've been eating this dish since I was born-Wonderful stapel. I crush potato chips on the top before I bake it with a little butter-Nice crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lei58
Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I have been eating this ever since I can remember. it is a French Canadian staple.. !! When in doubt for dinner... Make Pâté Chenois!!!!! Really is comfort food! Sever with salad and homemade fruit ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagecreeked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Westbank, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is a plain shepherd's pie which is incredibly easy to put together once your mashed potatoes are made. I wish I had the memories to tie to this dish (I totally understand that), but felt it was plain. A+B = C. In this case - it's literally ground beef, creamed corn and mashed potatoes (it wasn't transformed into something else). I did like how the creamed corn added a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I make this almost weekly. I too am french canadian. My mom always called it shepards pie, and she would melt butter ontop of it. I someimes put cheddar cheese on top of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I grew up eating Chinese Pie in southern NH. My mom (French-Canadien) made it regularly but she used Campbells vegetable soup instead of corn. (I hated it as I hated most vegetables) Then we got a cafeteria at my grade school in 6th grade and they had it on the lunch menu with CORN! I told my mom I loved it and she made it with corn after that! After I became an adult, I learned that it is very tasty with the Campbell's soup also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe is comfort food that is easy and basic. I have always called this Shepard's Pie but I did get the recipe from a Canadian friend many years ago. I do use onion powder instead of onions because my kids can be picky if they see onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe sounded weird when I read it, but we tried it and love it!! It has become a staple in our house. As for the Cook's Note at the bottom of the recipe, I never use real mashed potatoes because I don't like the consistency of them, I always use instant potatoes and have never had a problem. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkbradway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States