'Chinese' Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I have been eating this ever since I can remember. it is a French Canadian staple.. !! When in doubt for dinner... Make Pâté Chenois!!!!! Really is comfort food! Sever with salad and homemade fruit ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagecreeked

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Westbank, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I've been eating this dish since I was born-Wonderful stapel. I crush potato chips on the top before I bake it with a little butter-Nice crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lei58
Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Having a French Canadian mom that loved mashed potatoes meant we had Pate Chinois weekly in winter! For a really quick meal, I'll double it, use the frozen mashed potatoes (no peeling required) and make an extra for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joakleyjames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I make this almost weekly. I too am french canadian. My mom always called it shepards pie, and she would melt butter ontop of it. I someimes put cheddar cheese on top of the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe sounded weird when I read it, but we tried it and love it!! It has become a staple in our house. As for the Cook's Note at the bottom of the recipe, I never use real mashed potatoes because I don't like the consistency of them, I always use instant potatoes and have never had a problem. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkbradway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe is comfort food that is easy and basic. I have always called this Shepard's Pie but I did get the recipe from a Canadian friend many years ago. I do use onion powder instead of onions because my kids can be picky if they see onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is a plain shepherd's pie which is incredibly easy to put together once your mashed potatoes are made. I wish I had the memories to tie to this dish (I totally understand that), but felt it was plain. A+B = C. In this case - it's literally ground beef, creamed corn and mashed potatoes (it wasn't transformed into something else). I did like how the creamed corn added a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I grew up eating Chinese Pie in southern NH. My mom (French-Canadien) made it regularly but she used Campbells vegetable soup instead of corn. (I hated it as I hated most vegetables) Then we got a cafeteria at my grade school in 6th grade and they had it on the lunch menu with CORN! I told my mom I loved it and she made it with corn after that! After I became an adult, I learned that it is very tasty with the Campbell's soup also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is how my mother from Vermont made this and I really love it. We too called it Chinese Pie but I have heard it called Shepard's Pie and most people do not make it with the cream corn but I find the cream corn is what makes it soooo good. I love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States