Chinese Peppered Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Wow... what an unexpected melding of flavors! I had to work with what was on hand (vegetable oil, canned green beans, dried cilantro, and regular black peppercorns) but the end result was delicious! I love the incorporation of sweet from the brown sugar, but a hint of heat from the red chili peppers (I used three small ones from my garden). Thanks for a fun way to dress them beans up! Thanks, Heidi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
These were very tasty. My first try of these long beans. I cooked them longer because they weren't even close to being cooked at the time in the recipe. I probably cooked somwhere in the range of 8-10 minutes and they still were nice and firm. The only seasonign I would suggest would be a pinch of salt. I was unable to find the green peppercorns - looked in 3 stores so I used lots of black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I think this is an excellent recipe if you're using the ingredients exactly listed. While the green peppercorns aren't totally necessary (used black pepper here), it is absolutely essential to be able to use yardlong beans. They are less sweet than the western versions of green beans, which helps bring to life the sugar in the recipe. I also subbed red chile pepper with about a tablespoon of Asian hot chile sauce and it turned out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I'd caution anyone using ground dry green peppercorns to add them a little at time to get the amount right. I only used about half of the amount that the recipe called for and it was still too much for my family's taste. But the recipe is good and I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Do not try this recipe with ground black pepper and dried red chile flakes.I used 1 tbs black pepper and found that the pepper was way too overpowering. I didn't like the recipe so I would suggest following the recipe instead of substituting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Came out great. I also added finely chopped ginger which put this recipe over the top. Thanks for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Delicious! The cilantro is a perfect ingredient in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
These were so good! They had a very authentic flavor and I love the spiciness. I will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
so so so so good! this is my favorite recipe i've found so far on this site. my boyfriend says it tastes "gourmet". so much flavour! i recommend this to anyone. i believe this recipe would really impress any guests. you can adjust the spiciness by adjusting the amt of red chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was very good. Aesthitically pleasing, too. I used only regular green beans. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States