Chinese Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was very good, although I arrived at the finished product following some of the reviews. My NY sirloin strip steak was already in the freezer, so when it was almost thawed out, I sliced it (easy slicing this way) into thin slices ~ 1/4" thick. I sauteed the slices briefly and then removed from the pan, not wanting to overcook them later. In the same pan (without wiping out), I sauteed green and red peppers, a white onion, and some minced jarred garlic (skipped the tomato, personal preference). When that was cooked to my liking, I added the steak strips back in, along with the sauce and cooked for a few minutes. My steak was small, but I kept the amounts for the sauce the same. I also added about 1/2 cup of water towards the end because it seemed like it needed a little moisture. Enjoyed this with brown rice. Thanks for the nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Great tasting recipe, my entire family enjoyed it! I substituted the sirloin steak for venison chops, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was delicious! Very easy and fast to prepare. I added mushrooms which were perfect for this dish. Used 1 1/2 lbs of top sirloin and there was plenty of marinade to go around. This will become a regular menu item for us especially when the weather prevents us from grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
We liked this recipe, basically followed instructions except used 1/2 red and 1/2 green pepper. Used Splenda in place of sugar (faster dissolve). Next time I will double the marinade (for more sauce over the rice) and let it soak for awhile as the meat was rather chewy. I will also reduce tomato (roma) to 1 (family preference) and maybe toss in a few sliced mushrooms. Easy & tasty! A great way to stretch 1# of beef too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
For the sauce, I omitted the ginger and sugar and added 1tbs red pepper flakes and 1/2 tsp garlic. I marinated the steak for 2 hours and then cooked. For the veggies portion, I omitted tomato and added mushroom and broccoli. Husband loved it, I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
A very easy and tasty meal that can be made in no time. I wish I had fresh ginger to use, but it was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Easy, fast, and delicious! Next time I will make more of the marinade. A new favorite dinner for a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Needs garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Made the recipe as is, no substitutions or changes! It was good! I like the tomatoes in mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States