Chinese Pepper Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
4 stars because I did not follow exactly. Added 2 tablespoons of oyster sauce and glove of chopped garlic. However I did follow cooking directions exactly and I think this is why is came out so well. Unless you have a REALLY large fry pan, stir fry MUST be cooked in batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really liked this recipe, tweaked it a bit added 1 tbsp minced garlic and 1 tsp crushed red pepper, had to triple for 3 lbs of meat. Perfect balance of sweet and hot, only thing I will change next time is less cornstarch with water for a thinner consitancy, very thick sticky coating, but thats just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wobblymonkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I used a little extra sauce and only half an onion and one tomato, and it came out good. I think I would cut back a little on the sugar next time. My family liked this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Instead of white sugar I used brown sugar and instead of a red onion I used a white one. I also marinated the meat for about 2 hours and added a small spoon of red wine vinegar to the marinade to help break down the meat some to ensure tenderness. I added season salt, minced garlic, teriyaki sauce, and sesame oil to the marinade as well. This was yummy. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Great but more sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I prefer it without the tomatoes. Also I think that it is best to double the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Made this about 3 weeks. I loved it, so easy to make. My Fiance inhaled it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Yum!! A keeper! I will make this one again. I used low sodium soy sauce and fresh roma tomatoes, I left out the onions as I fogot to buy some. The green peppers gave this dish a WONDERFUL flavor. Next time I may try fresh ginger instead of the dry and add a pinch more sugar to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I LOVED this! The flavor was great! I did double up on the sauce (I Like my Chinese dishes extra saucy!) I also cooked the left over sauce with the veggies and added lots of fresh garlic. You can also reduce the sugar if needed and it will still taste good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I have made this many times, the best pepper steak recipe I have ever made I marinated the steak a couple hours cooked the pepper and onions after the steak then added the cooked steak, took off heat and added tomatoes the cool tomatoes and the hot pepper steak were awesome.. served over white rice. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States