Chinese Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
We loved this! Did make a few changes- made dressing with seasoning packet, 1/3 c vegetable oil, 2 Tbsp rice wine vinegar, 1 Tbsp white sugar and 1 Tbsp brown sugar. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
If you think this is the sweet, tangy version of this potluck favorite you are seeking then this is not it. It was good, but was not sweet by any means. I would recommend to add at least 1/4 c. of sugar and at least double the dressing if not triple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
As written, I give it 3 stars. With my modifications, I give it 4 stars. I toasted the almonds and the ramen noodles, and added the seasoning packet and 3 tsp. of sugar to the dressing. As much as I love cilantro, I'm not sure I liked it in this recipe and I also think I would cut the green onion down to 3 instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I make a similar version to this but with 1 pkg ramen noodle seasoning, 1/3 c oil, 1 T soy sauce, 1 T sugar and 1 T of vinegar (no herbs) and this makes for a sweeter dressing. I also use a bag or two of coleslaw mix instead of shredded cabbage for an easier recipe(depending on how much you want to make but match the number of ramen noodle packages to coleslaw packages).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I would not make this again. I love the cilantro in this version which others don't have, but it really needs sugar, and I don't like using the ramen seasoning mix which is full of additives and MSG. There are many other similar recipes out there that incorporate similar ingredients that I would use instead. This was flavorless and too vinegary, even with the ramen seasoning packet. I used a bag of pre-shredded slaw mix, so maybe I used too much cabbage? And it needs more onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dayton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
It was great just the way recipe called for it.....but I do like the ideas others are giving to doctor it up. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Wonderful and low fat!! I also added yellow bell pepper, brocolli, and chicken. I've already passed this recipe on to my friends. I loved it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was wonderful! I was looking for my mom's recipe online, and this is very close! Her recipe had some slight differences though, that I think make it better. I used 3/4 bag of shredded cabbage to save time, 1/4 cup toasted slivered almonds + 1/4 cup toasted sunflower seeds (sunflower seeds really add wonderful flavor!), 1/8 cup corn or sunflower oil instead of vegetable oil, 3 Tbl. rice wine vinegar + 3 Tbl. sugar (plus seasoning packet). Wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
A really easy to make side dish. I actually roast the almonds and the ramen noodles with a bit of sesame seeds in the oven til slightly brown before adding to the cabbage and it tastes even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
The original recipt itself was good -- I doctored it adding chopped green/red bell peppers and chicken (if you want meat...) and it was awesome. Also added garlic, and used a red wine vinegar dressing instead of the oil/vinegar combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States