Chinese New Year Chocolate Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
You can make a nice treat for Easter with this recipe. I omit the peanuts when I do this, but that's just my preference. Make them drop style and make an indent in the centre with your thumb to form a nest. Chill, and when they've set, fill the indent with a few Jelly Beans or Cadbury mini-eggies. Kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Tastes great, and so easy to make. I found the squares hard to cut, and about 1/4 of it ended up as crumbs. Next time, I will make individual cookies, as mentioned previously. I will also use a bit less noodles, so it sticks together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I love the candy but found it easier to drop the candy by teaspoon rather than try to cut it later, because it crumpled too easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Thanks for providing this roadmap to our creativity, Sam. These were great. Since we really enjoy our chocolate and butterscotch in separate doses, I made mine with just the chocolate chips and added raisins, mini marshmallows and toasted slivered almonds. There are many many variations to this great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a family tradition for the holidays in my house. One suggestion- I "drop" the combined ingredients onto wax paper then chill instead of trying to cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
my husband loves these things! He use to get these at a deli close to his work. They later closed and he hasnt had them in about 10 years, but always remembers them. He said the ones he had didnt have peanuts, so I made half the recipe with peanuts, half with out. very enjoyable snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I substituted white chocolate chips for chocolate and they were wonderful. I ha a hard time getting the chips to melt to a good consistency so I had to add some Gulf wax to it. This is my favorite so far of all that I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was very good! I didn't want to make a large amount of this recipe so I used 1 cup of chocolate chips, 1 cup of crushed chow mein noodles and 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts instead of peanuts. I omitted the butterscotch chips. I used a heaping coffee spoon as a measure and dropped it onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. I sprinkled it with grated coconut. This made 15 pieces of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This isn't a particularly Chinese dessert (they wouldn't indulge in something so sweet), but it's a fun recipe nonetheless with Chinese elements (the chow mein).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Sam! Thank you! My girlfriend made these for me one year. They were wonderful! I decided to try them myself, but she's out of town and hasn't checked her email and I found myself with out the recipee on the day before baking day! Thought I'd give the net a whirl and found this recipee with two clicks, no kidding! Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States