Chinese New Year Chocolate Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Sam! Thank you! My girlfriend made these for me one year. They were wonderful! I decided to try them myself, but she's out of town and hasn't checked her email and I found myself with out the recipee on the day before baking day! Thought I'd give the net a whirl and found this recipee with two clicks, no kidding! Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
Be prepared to make more than one batch of these candies. Instead of a 9 by 13 pan I made cookies by spooning a large tablespoon of mixture onto wax paper. This recipe was enjoyed by young and old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
I think I would try these in drop form as suggested by one of the other reviewers instead of in bars if I did it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
Tastes great, and so easy to make. I found the squares hard to cut, and about 1/4 of it ended up as crumbs. Next time, I will make individual cookies, as mentioned previously. I will also use a bit less noodles, so it sticks together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was a hit at an office Christmas party. It was super easy to make and quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
my husband loves these things! He use to get these at a deli close to his work. They later closed and he hasnt had them in about 10 years, but always remembers them. He said the ones he had didnt have peanuts, so I made half the recipe with peanuts, half with out. very enjoyable snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
EASY RECIPE. GOOD TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I've been using this recipe for years. I always made drop cookies with it. What a great idea to put it in a pan! Used a few less noodles and peanuts and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Thanks for providing this roadmap to our creativity, Sam. These were great. Since we really enjoy our chocolate and butterscotch in separate doses, I made mine with just the chocolate chips and added raisins, mini marshmallows and toasted slivered almonds. There are many many variations to this great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I substituted white chocolate chips for chocolate and they were wonderful. I ha a hard time getting the chips to melt to a good consistency so I had to add some Gulf wax to it. This is my favorite so far of all that I have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States