Chinese New Year Chocolate Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This recipe is easy to make but very sweet. I crushed the noodles a little and made mine into drop candy instead of putting it in a pan. Great recipe just too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mphelps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Fantastic candy! I do homemade baked goods instead of giving out store bought gifts to my family. I added these to the mix this year and took them to my Grandpa's house this past weekend and they were ALL GONE by the end of the night! Instead of baking them in a pan, I spooned them out into Christmas printed baking cups. Thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleBrownBettie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
My mom made these every Christmas. They're so easy! As others have mentioned, we just drop spoonfuls onto wax paper to set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I learned how to make these during preschool years ago, only we called them Haystacks. I make these with my oldest every once and a while for something fun for he and I to make together. It's very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was very good! I didn't want to make a large amount of this recipe so I used 1 cup of chocolate chips, 1 cup of crushed chow mein noodles and 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts instead of peanuts. I omitted the butterscotch chips. I used a heaping coffee spoon as a measure and dropped it onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. I sprinkled it with grated coconut. This made 15 pieces of candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Very tasty candy! Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is a family tradition for the holidays in my house. One suggestion- I "drop" the combined ingredients onto wax paper then chill instead of trying to cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Yummy! I've been making this since I was 6 years old. The only thing I do differently is that I make individual candies by dropping spoonsfuls on a baking sheet. Then I stick them in the fridge or freezer until chilled. Then just stick them in a ziplock bag and keep in the fridge. Also, if you don't have peanuts, you can use walnuts or any other nut you like. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I grew up on these. I can remember my mom making them when we were kids. When kids were able to actually go trick or treating without any worries, my mom would give these out to the neighbor kids and they loved them! Now that im dating myself, BIG time, I will say that these are delicious and an old time favorite. I still make them at Halloween but only for family & friends, to keep up my mom's tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgurlluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States