Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
I have tried several of these "chinese slaw" recipes. This is the best. the addition of the sesame oil makes a world of difference. It has been a requested recipe, even by people who already make a version of this. I keep the 3 components in separate containers in the frig and mix it up as I feel the urge. It stays crunchy and is a great quick lunch or dinner side dish. A BIG hit at gatherings, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPURV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Really, this recipe is almost like "asian salad" also found on this site (just a little less sugar and less ramen noodles). Still, VERY GOOD! I like to use a package and a half of the pre-shredded coleslaw mix, it gives you the same results but less time is spent on chopping. In addition, to make this one "different " from the other recipe, I used cashews in place of blanched almonds...I just tossed them in when I mixed in the sauce. I'm keeping this one just in case I ever lose my copy of the receipe for Asian Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
This salad is phenomenal! My mom made it for me the first time. I don't like cabbage, so thought I wouldn't like this. Boy, was I wrong! I could have eaten the whole bowl! I made my mom fix it for me several times while home visiting - and it was also the big hit with any guests who lucked out and were present for dinner with this fabulous salad on the side. It does take a bit of work - but it's worth it! Plan to eat the whole salad in one sitting, as it's not so great the next day when the crunchies have gone stale. If it's too much for one sitting, make the salad and split it into two before adding the top ramen and almonds. Put the extra toppings in an airtight container for the next day. Do the same with half the dressing. Trust me - this is as good as the chinese salads you get in a restaurant! Kudos to the chef who shared this with the rest of us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
so i made this again tonight b4 realizing i didn't the ramen. here is my solution: use 1 cube of chicken boullion and dilute in a tablespoon of very hot water. add this to the dressing ingredients (which i always, always double except the oils. i only use 2 tablespoons vegg oil and 1/3 cup sesame oil to cut the fat/calorie content. yes, the dressing is a wee bit loose but i will sacrifice the oilyness of almost a cup of oil, yuck!). still toast your almond/sesame seed mixture but you don't even need the butter if you use non-stick pan. my family didn't even notice the difference. and once again we ate the entire bowl. so good with salmon and brown rice. ------------- my family loves this! its very yummy & very similar to another recipe on this site but has less calories (napa cabbage noodle salad). only made two small changes: less noodles cuz there would have been waaaay too many. used about half a bag. second, i added more green onion than called for as i wanted more of the wonderful subtle green onions flavor. another thing i did was make more of the dressing as i am going to try it as a marinade for sea bass or such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
Great salad. Have made tons of times. I make dressing and the nut topping, then chop and bag the veggies (Napa and green onions)and put all in fridge. When I am ready just toss all together. Can do up to 2 days ahead. Sometimes I make half recipe and do the rest the next day or the day after. Very user friendly recipe and always gets rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I really LOVED this salad, but unfortunately I could never eat it again. If you get headaches from MSG, beware!! Those ramen seasonings straight are bad undiluted!! I used a bag of coleslaw mix instead of shredding a head of cabbage, and I added a few extra drops of soy sauce to the dressing b/c all I could taste was the rice vinegar. I also stored everything seperately like suggested, and it did keep for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
Very good! Next time I'll add some carrots, broccoli, and chicken. Take the advice of another reply and store the dressing seperate from the cabbage because it is soggy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Actually, this is a recipe I've had in my arsenal for several years now. I was fresh out of college and went to a fellow alumus' grad party and his mom served this refreshing salad. I demanded the recipe before I left and good thing, too, I haven't seen the alum since the party-- thanks, Mrs. Levine! After browsing the allrecipe.com site and finding it here, I just needed to chime in with praise. MAKE IT -- it's a crowd pleaser EVERY time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
My mom makes this with cashews, not almonds & it is THE BEST SUMMER RECIPE EVER!! It's wild how the different ingredients combine to make such a unique & flavorful dish, like other reviews, you can't tell it's raw cabbage, it's just crunchy. Reminds me of the Lettuce Wrap appetizers you get at PF Chang's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Made exactly as written. This is a great salad to take to potlucks or family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States