Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Made recipe as is and absolutely loved it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I had a huge head of napa cabbage and wanted to try something different-- this was delicious! I note that some have recommended using about half the seasoning packet from the ramen noodles. I used all of the packet from an organic "Asian vegetable" ramen which seems to have considerably less sodium than the regular store brands, and the salt level seemed just right. To turn it into a vegetarian main course salad I also sauteed a box of Quorn "naked" cutlets in the same skillet in which I'd cooked the noodles, almonds and sesame seeds and then diced them before adding it all to the salad. I also LOVE sesame seeds and toasted sesame oil, and thought the large quantity of sesame seeds gave it a great taste and texture. I'm embarrassed to admit that my husband and I pretty much devoured the whole thing. We'd washed and chopped the napa cabbage when we brought it home a couple of days before using it, making this salad incredibly quick and easy to put together. I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I'm thinking it might only needed a half package of the ramen noodle soup to season the noodle. Also make sure to add sesame at the end of browning. It burnt very easily. But overall, the salad was delicious. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Ooh, great! I just had it for the first time at a party so was really happy to come across this recipe. My family loved it too and I'll be serving it often. I agree with others that it doesn't hold up well after its been tossed, so make only as much as you think you'll eat. (Which was easy in my case because they ate the whole thing!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious. I added some red peppers and had to use pine nuts instead of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This tastes pretty good, but I want something without the ramen noodle seasoning-something homemade and healthier.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Made exactly as written. This is a great salad to take to potlucks or family get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwulleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Maine, USA
Living In: Lisbon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The dressing is fantastic. The salad tasted just like my favorite chinese chicken salad from a restaurant, minus the chicken. I didn't have any ramen noodles, so I omitted them, but added shredded carrot & sliced red bell pepper (great additions IMHO). The salad was just begging for shredded chicken and next time I'll definitely add it and maybe some cilantro. Will make this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Perfect! My grandmother makes this salad and I really couldn't find a recipe that was quite what I wanted. The dressing for this recipe is absolutely perfect, though. I generally do not have sesame seeds, so I skip them. I do, however, add a handful of raisins after my grandmother. Yummy! I love it, my boyfriend loves it...Will be adding this to my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States