Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very good, I added 2 shredded carrots for color as well. I made the cabbage and dressed it but didn't add the butter/ramen/almond mixture until shortly before serving because I was afraid they'd get soggy and I never made this before. I'm not sure how much in advance you could do it beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I really like this recipe! First time ever trying the Asian cabbage salad thing, and I ended up making it three nights in a row because it was delicious. This recipe is also very fool proof in that you can add/subtract many different ingredients and it still tastes great. It also goes great with many different dishes. I was making ginger pork and was worried the taste would be too contrasting, but it was perfect! I used plain green cabbage because it was on sale, skipped the almonds because I didn't have any on hand, and substituted half a white onion for the green onion. I also reduced the vinegar and sugar in the dressing by about half. Also: DON'T add the ramen seasoning. The seasoning really masks the freshness of the veggies in our opinion. For those of you that are MSG sensitive, this is a great way to enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Ok... WOW! This is delicious!! The picky eater and I are having this, this evening and its ah-mazing! Used 1/2 head Regular cabbage, cider vinegar, two whole green onions. Thats what I had. Added 1/2 sliced red pepper and some carrot for color. Sauteed some chicken tenders in the pan after I toasted the noodles and added 1/4 cup of the dressing in w it while they sauteed. This is quick and easy.. The only problem, next time I'll need to triple this recipe for my family of 7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DD356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
One of the best Asian salads I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very good. Next time I make it I will only use a tablespoon of sesame seeds and less oil, maybe a little bit more vinegar. The browning of the almonds, seeds and noodles in the butter really makes it delicious. I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Very tasty - great blend of flavors. I made a vegan version using Earth Balance instead of dairy butter and meat-free ramen noodles . I also used agave instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by garyloewenthal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
As written this salad just isn't that great. It needs more to it. The dressing is good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Thank you for your version of this popular recipe. It is simpler and much better! The other recipes use too much sugar and oil. It's just not necessary, especially for those trying to eat healthy. The rice vinegar and sesame oil are also add wonderful flavor, much better than vegetable oil and white vinegar. You also skip the part about baking the noodles, nuts and seeds in the oven. I'm all for making good recipes less complicated. You have accomplished that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this tonight with two teeny changes - I toasted cashews along with the almonds, because the package I bought had both, and I doubled the recipe because I had a lot of cabbage to use up - and it turned out fantastic! A beautiful and delicious salad, very much enjoyed by my roomates and very picky boyfriend. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I have made similar recipes before, so I just glanced at the recipe before making this. It wasn't until I went to prepare it that I noticed that you are to use the seasoning packet from the ramen. I eliminated that step and made it otherwise to directions and it was delicious. So don't be afraid to leave that icky flavor packet out, just crumble up the ramen raw and put it in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAAUSTIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States