Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent salad, but we thought the sesame seeds were a little too heavy. I'd cut it back to 1/4 cup. Otherwise it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
MADE THIS FOR A PATIO GET TOGETHER. NONE LEFT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My husband &hi just love this salad on a nice summer day. Just wish my kids felt the same. Haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made this exactly as written (increased to make 5 times the servings) for a party. I did add a little finely chopped carrot and green pepper, added only for a little extra color. I also added just a little bit of Chinese hot mustard to the dressing(whisked in with some of the vinegar first, to blend the mustard). I was so pleased with the flavor!!! We like to mix it a little ahead of time, so that the noodles actually soak up some of the dressing and take-on more of a noodle texture, instead of a crunchy texture and the cabbage softens more and wilts. Really, I like it both ways - crunchy and soft! Added the rest of the dressing close to serving time. Thanks for sharing - this one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Easy! I made some of the dressing and simmered chicken all day in it via crock pot. Then shredded it in the salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My husband liked this one more than I did. I loved the noodle/almond mix and cabbage, but the dressing only tasted good when we used the least possible amount. I think it's the sesame oil--it smells like burnt coffee. I added more sugar in the dressing to compensate. I'm not sure if that's supposed to be that way or we just got a bad bottle--this is my first time cooking with it, so I'm not sure what sesame oil's supposed to taste like. I would try again, but with half as much of the oil, or with different oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
As other reviewers suggested, I stored the cabbage, dressing and noodles separately and mixed at serving time. For a healthier dish DO NOT use the ramen seasoning packet. I sprinkled a bit of Herb ox sodium free chicken bouillon granules on mine, but the noodles can go without any seasoning. I cut back on oil a bit and I didn't have sesame seeds and it was fine without. Great salad. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very good salad! Stored the shredded napa cabbage, ramen blend and dressing separately. The cabbage keeps for a few days and you can quickly toss it with the dressing just prior to serving. Then, top with ramen blend and you have a quick, crisp salad. Modifications made: Bean sprouts were added and the ramen mixture was fried in 1 Tblsp canola oil instead of butter and it still was wonderfully crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made this with a few additions- a diced red pepper and a pound of chopped chicken tenderloins sauteed in sesame oil with a splash of Asian salad dressing. Salt and pepper the cabbage before mixing in the other ingredients to improve tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Oller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Out of all the Chinese Cabbage Recipes on here, this is by far the best. I think it is because it calls for soy sauce (which I always end up adding anyway) and rice vinegar! Make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States