Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Easy! I made some of the dressing and simmered chicken all day in it via crock pot. Then shredded it in the salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My husband liked this one more than I did. I loved the noodle/almond mix and cabbage, but the dressing only tasted good when we used the least possible amount. I think it's the sesame oil--it smells like burnt coffee. I added more sugar in the dressing to compensate. I'm not sure if that's supposed to be that way or we just got a bad bottle--this is my first time cooking with it, so I'm not sure what sesame oil's supposed to taste like. I would try again, but with half as much of the oil, or with different oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
As other reviewers suggested, I stored the cabbage, dressing and noodles separately and mixed at serving time. For a healthier dish DO NOT use the ramen seasoning packet. I sprinkled a bit of Herb ox sodium free chicken bouillon granules on mine, but the noodles can go without any seasoning. I cut back on oil a bit and I didn't have sesame seeds and it was fine without. Great salad. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very good salad! Stored the shredded napa cabbage, ramen blend and dressing separately. The cabbage keeps for a few days and you can quickly toss it with the dressing just prior to serving. Then, top with ramen blend and you have a quick, crisp salad. Modifications made: Bean sprouts were added and the ramen mixture was fried in 1 Tblsp canola oil instead of butter and it still was wonderfully crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I made this with a few additions- a diced red pepper and a pound of chopped chicken tenderloins sauteed in sesame oil with a splash of Asian salad dressing. Salt and pepper the cabbage before mixing in the other ingredients to improve tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Oller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Out of all the Chinese Cabbage Recipes on here, this is by far the best. I think it is because it calls for soy sauce (which I always end up adding anyway) and rice vinegar! Make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shawnee Mission, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. It is one of my favorite salads. My fiance doesn't like to try new things but I made it for him for dinner one day and he is obsessed with it now!! Awesome on a hot day or when barbecuing outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This is such a delicious way to eat a bunch of cabbage!! I made it healthier by decreasing the butter to 2-tbsp, and for the dressing I use: 2-tbsp Sesame Oil, 2-tbsp Rice Wine Vinegar, 1-tbsp Soy Sauce, 1-tbsp Sugar (omit the other oil), its PERFECTION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very different but good. Lots of flavor. I did not add green onions, almonds, or sesame seeds since the kids don't care for it but added cilantro. Liked the sesame flavor and was surprised the noodles tasted really good. 2 of 4 kids ate it. Husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Everyone at the get-together liked it. I used only 2 tbsp of butter and that was plenty to brown the noodles. A 1/4 cup isn't necessary and is just too much grease. Next time I make it, I will use a little less almonds and sesame seeds, it was just a bit much for how much napa there was. I used the whole head of the largest I could find at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States