Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is a great salad... especially in the summer! Also great with grilled or breaded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
My friends BEG me to make this salad. The adjustments I made are to use 1/4 cup sesame seeds instead of 1/2 cup, and a bag of shredded cabbage. Keep all ingredients separate until ready to eat otherwise the cabbage and crunchy mix get soggy. This salad doesn't last leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
yumm! this was so authentic tasting I thought! I cant wait to have it again! I added cut up chunks of left over chicken breast!! it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shabbos Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
A versatile and simple recipe. Like others stated browing the toppings in 2 Tbsp butter is sufficent. Since I do not care for the additives in the ramen season packet I simply added S&P to taste. The nuts once roasted are flavorful in their true state. I use seasoned rice wine vinegar for the dressing which for my preference enhances the flavor more. I also find keeping the dressing completly seperate from the salad is best. This allows others a choice on the quantiey of dressing they prefer, as well as no soggy leftovers. I would recommend everyone to try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
very tasty...but I made some changes: I'm vegetarian so I left out the chicken packet and used an equal amount of veggie bouillon instead. I also used only 2 T butter to brown the noodles--this seemed like plenty. Finally, I used 1 T brown sugar instead of the white sugar that was called for as it seemed like it would be too much for my tastes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lil deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This is my favorite salad. I make it all the time. I often make it with regular cabbage and it's still great. I'm a big vinegar fan, so I often double the vinegar. I also prefer using 1/2 apple juice and 1/2 extra virgin olive oil for the oil. One final thing I do differently sometimes is use double the ramen noodles. These will soak up the dressing, so if I do this I add some extra oil/vinger/(apple juice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This is an excellent recipe! I also grated carrots into it. I did not put the dressing on until right before serving. I had my supper club over and it was ahuge hit! I also tossed some toasted sesame seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Very good! Very tasty! Quite different! I use red wine vinegar and usually make a little extra dressing. I find it has more flavor with more dressing. I use 2 packages of ramen noodles with both seasoning packets. We like lots of crunch. I usually mix dressing with cabbage and scallions and refrigerate for a few hrs. It doesnt get soggy but allows time for the flavors to absorb. I also dont use butter but a little olive oil instead. I keep the toasted mixture in a bowl and we add as we eat. Usually keeps fine for a few days as long as you dont put toasted mixture in salad. Have made it a main dish by adding browned cubed chicken. Very good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States