Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The ingredients sound totally strange on this, but it is actually pretty good. I tried it at a 4th of July bbq. It mostly looks like a mix of cabbage and ramen noodles, but the flavors transform themselves and it looks healthy. The ramen does stay crunchy in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I also used cashews instead of almonds--but either would work, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice McVeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orpington, Greater London, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Excellent Recipe! If you store your veggies, toppings, and dressing in separate containers and mix together just before eating the meal will keep for several days. I added shredded carrots, red pepper, and chicken to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Always a hit at summer barbecues--I have probably made this thing 50 times now! I am always one to tinker with recipes so here are a couple of suggestions but by all means the base recipe is great. For the salad part I like to add a few other ingredients for color and contrast so I shred up a couple carrots and thinly slice a red pepper to add to the cabbage. Personally I like cilantro so I usually chop some of that up and add in in as well--it gives it a fresh taste but some folks don't like it so it just depends. The dressing is phenomenal with that sweet, salty and acidic contrast. I jazz it up a bit with a tablespoon or two of the chili-garlic paste and minced fresh ginger. I also usually double the sesame oil because I like that taste. Just a few suggestions--but again great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Great recipe. Made a couple of changes - Dry toast the sesame and almonds in a pan (not the ramen noodles) and I don't add the seasoning packet from the ramen. Just omit it and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Love the recipe, but I don't care for all the calorie in the Ramen noodles. I generally us Saifun bean threads and boil and chop them before adding them, but they can be fried as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
We have had this salad many times before but when we used this recipe, we had a hard time staying away from it. The difference was the sautéing of the noodles, almonds, etc, that we had never done before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I added cooked chicken to make it a meal. I love Chinese chicken salad, and I like this version (albeit similar to others I've made) a lot. I added pumpkin seeds (shelled) because I didn't have slivered almonds, and flax seeds because I didn't have sesame seeds. I'll use less seeds (whether sesame or flax) in the future. I'll also use a bit less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is excellent! I used a bag of precut cole slaw and it was delicious. Everyone in my family raved about it and can't wait to have it again. Will definitely make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This "Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad" was delicious! I left out the butter and ramen noodles (due to milk and grain intolerance) and green onions (don't like them) and used a tad of honey instead of sugar. I was surprised that this salad was so similar to what I have been making off the cuff for years. Thank you Hopps for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States