Chinese Mabo Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I live in China and was looking to cook something for my husband (who is Chinese) and he loved it... He said it was authentic Hunan style. I will cook it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I substituted hot been sauce with hoisin sauce and some chili oil. Pretty good but way too salty. Next time I'll use about one half the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I thought this was outstanding! For the tofu, I squeezed as much water out of it as I could, then rubbed some grilling seasoning on all sides and baked it for an hour at 350 degrees. After it cooled, I chopped it into bite size pieces. I omitted the pork because I was trying to keep it a little more vegan. Because I didn't have all of the ingredients, I had to substitute as follows: I chopped up 1 tbs of pickled ginger (didn't have fresh) and about a 1/4 cup of yellow onion (green onions would've been better if I had them on hand) and sautéed them in olive oil. I didn't have the hot bean sauce, so I used about a tablespoon of spicy sweet and sour sauce. Just before plating, I added chopped asparagus and an orange chopped up into chunks. I cooked just a minute or two longer until the asparagus turned a bright green. I omitted the sugar (I'm diabetic) and sesame oil. I would've sprinkled toasted sesame seeds on it if I had had them. I absolutely loved it! I want to try it exactly as written too. I'm sure it would be equally delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
First tofu dish my husband raved about! Heavy garlic flavor, and just the right amount of spicy. Couldn't find hot bean sauce, but chili garlic sauce worked well. Doubled the lean pork. Would go great with steamed green beans or snowpeas. Some pan cleanup effort, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lani Goldstein
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This was my second ever attempt at cooking tofu, as I'm just starting to eat it, and this dish will help ease carnivores into tofu eaters! I couldn't find the bean paste at any local grocers and didn't deal like trekking to the nearest Asian market, so I used another reviewers suggestion and substituted it with the garlic chili paste. I was not disappointed! This dish is delicious! I will definitely make it again and even my "I will never eat tofu - that stuff is disgusting" spouting boyfriend said he liked it. Not enough to eat a bowl, but at least he didn't spit it out! Lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani Goldstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I tried this recipe twice with a couple of variations/healthier alternatives so-to-speak. 1st time I substituted ground turkey instead of pork. 2nd time I substituted shiitake, oyster, porcini, & baby bella mushrooms instead of pork. I must say the latter was hearty, earthy, & AMAZING!!! I used extra-firm tofu instead of firm. I used coconut sugar both times instead of white sugar. I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of Soy Sauce. I also used Arrowroot instead of cornstarch. If you like more sauce, you can you more Arrowroot without getting that "starchy" taste you'd get from too much cornstarch ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Awesome recipe!! I was just looking to use up the tofu I had purchased and instead I now have a great recipe to serve to my friends and family. I used miso paste instead of the hot bean paste and I added a little mushroom and cilantro to dress it up a little. It was amazing, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Very good and easy. Made this vegetarain only. The soy sauce masked all the other delicious ingredients. It was salty, so I added rice vinegar to it and since I only had non-spicy black bean sauce, I also added chili garlic sauce. I omitted the sesame oil because we don't like them in certain dishes and its very overwelming, but thats just us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was great! The only substitution I did was replace the hot bean sauce with Huy Fong's Chili Garlic sauce. Extremely easy and extremely delicious, didn't taste extremely heavy or greasy. Excellent over white rice, with broccoli on the side (might also be good to put broccoli or Chinese long beans in with all other ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STONESOUP
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
My daughters are vegetarian, so I left out the meat, and I was winging it at suppertime (late!), so I didn't have everything. In my version I used olive oil, no meat.. didn't know what hot bean sauce so I put in some white miso (1 tbsp) instead. My daughter--who doesn't like sesame seeds, and I did use the roasted sesame oil--thinks this dish is keeper. So do I :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States