Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe is a keeper. I followed it exactly and it was great. The only thing I did different was use lean ground turkey instead of pork to cut fat. Usually things I make with the lean ground turkey are a bit firm and tough, but these dumplings were soft and pillowy. Really delicious. Thanks Lei Lei! Talk about easy cheap Chinese flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
A really simple dish to prepare. The only thing I did differently was boil it a bit longer, being somewhat paranoid about the doneness of my slightly oversized meatballs. The results were outstanding. Everyone who tried it declared it "a keeper" and went back for a second bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I made this tonite for the first time, and it won't be the last! The only change I made was to use 3 cups of broth and 1 cup of water. I was a worried the broth would be a little 'thin' for our taste if made as written. Kids and adults loved this soup equally. This was immediately deemed a 'keeper' here. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this soup for my finicky family. It was a hit. I used 6 cups liquid and had a huge head of savoy so I only used 2/3 of it. I also used ground turkey breast instead of pork. The soup was delicious, we will definately have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
very good, but this is not for a childs palate, but we adults loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Summer veggie co-op brings me an assortment of vegetables each week and finding recipes to use them all can be a challange. I looked up Chinese cabbage and found this. I loved it, Next time I will add some minced garlic and chili spice to the meatballs, but it was a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I make ALOT of soups and chowders during the winter, and this is one of my favorites! I leave out the msg and it's still just as yummy. I have also used the pork to fill wonton wrappers and dropped them into the hot soup, which is delicious! I look forward to making this in the fall...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My husband loved this, but I didn't care for it. I thought it was a little bland. Chili-garlic paste helped...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PROZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Point, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I make this often in the winter..but I do something just a little different..I bake it..I layer some cabbage leaves in the bottom of my ceramic cook pot, then put in the raw meat balls and then I pour over the liquid that I have heated to just boiling. Then I layer the rest of the cabbage with some fresh ginger and garlic slices. I simmer it for about 2-3 hours in a covered pot on 300'...Or you can make it in the morning and put it in the slow cooker all day..Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuZySHooZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was pretty good. I might next time add some carrots or another veggie with the cabbage. Overall not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States