Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Hello Lei Lei. I loved your light and flavorful soup. Thank You so much for your recipe. I would like to say I did not veer from the original recipe, but, I did not have any green onions, only leeks, so that is what I used. I will have green onions the next time I make it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great recipe. I used ground turkey and bok choy. Add 1.5 teaspoons of Chinese Five-spice in the last 3 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T-Rex
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Will definitely make again. I added green ramen noodles. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The taste was wonderful and homey, but the proportions for the broth to other ingredients must be off. I would cut the amount of cabbage to half a head as long as the head of cabbage is small. That will make this a soup rather than a dish of meatballs in boiled cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have been wanting to try this for a while and I'm so glad that I finally did! It is delicious. I accidentally put the sesame oil in the meat mixture. I went ahead and added some to the broth at the end too. It was perfect so I will do that again next time. After putting it all together, there did not seem to be enough broth. I added 4 more cups and that seemed to be more to our liking. The fresh ginger is a prominent taste and I love that about this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used turkey and added some garlic for the meatballs! Great loved it!! I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tambo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Didn't have napa cabbage so used regular head of cabbage. Simple recipe with wonderful flavor. Would definitely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I thought this was good, but the guys thought this was GREAT! I used more broth/water than called for (about double), b/c I wanted to add rice noodles (I used an 8oz. pkg.). This was super simple to make and I thought the meatballs had good flavor, not too overpowering at all. The broth is a bit bland, but is easily fixed w/ salt, which brought out the flavors more. I'm assuming this is supposed to be a lightly flavored soup, but I'm sure can be easily adjusted to suit you tastes. All in all, this turned out fine, and will be a repeat! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Loved it! My daughter said this tasted like one from our favorite noodle restaurants. We used a little bit of cabbage but to compromise, we added 8oz of rice noodles. Since we were using noodles, we had to add more broth (around 8 cup total). I used a mixture of wonton soup base and regular chicken broth due to availability. Also, I'm not a fan of sesame oil, so I adjusted by using 3/4 teaspoon in the meat mixture and I think 1/2 teaspoon into the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
So easy and so good! We eat it with jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States