Chinese Lion's Head Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Really good, i bought the Nappa cabbage and it was 9 dollars a head next time I'll go with regular old cabbage. I added garlic and red pepper flake to the broth. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kt Hibbler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I had to try this out tonight! Lions beat the Packers and just the Name alone was to add insult to injury to the hubby, who's a Packer fan in the family:( We LOVED! I used 8 cups of chicken broth instead of the 2 C. each of broth and water. I also baked my pork balls. Just what we prefer. Added more green onions and soy to our taste and some white ground pepper. I also just chopped the Napa cabbage and put in the broth until done. Added the pork balls and simmered about 10 minutes. Everything was so delicious! Loved all the flavors! We went back for seconds! Thank You So Much Lei Lei for sharing! Will be making again Very Soon! Oh! First time I ever bought Sesame Oil! I was shocked at the price! Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Yum! Easy to make and even my kids liked it. I did add a clove of garlic each to the meat mixture and while sauteeing the cabbage. I reduced the ginger and sesame oil by half just because I tend to find those particular flavors a bit overpowering. Served with noodles. Next time I'll brown the meatballs first (my husband felt they were mushy) and add the sauteed cabbage at the end so it ends up a bit more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I made this and thought it was the perfect balance of flavor. I added a couple chicken boullions for more flavor. So easy and delicious. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This was super easy and so yum! Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is a good soup for summer - light, but filling. I subbed 1t ground ginger for fresh & used homemade chicken broth. Oh, no napa cabbage at the store so subbed a 10oz pkg frozen chopped spinach. 'Probably would've been prettier if I'd cooked the spinach separately so the broth wouldn't be green; but, hey, it's broth with chopped spinach in it. Maybe it'd be green anyway. :D I only put 1t sesame oil at the end. The 2t would've been fine, too. 'Just being careful. :) 'Think the meatballs could use more ginger, if using ground.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I loved your light and flavorful soup. Thank You so much for your recipe. I would like to say I did not veer from the original recipe, but, I did not have any green onions, only leeks, so that is what I used. I will have green onions the next time I make it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Great recipe. I used ground turkey and bok choy. Add 1.5 teaspoons of Chinese Five-spice in the last 3 minutes of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by T-Rex
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Will definitely make again. I added green ramen noodles. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
The taste was wonderful and homey, but the proportions for the broth to other ingredients must be off. I would cut the amount of cabbage to half a head as long as the head of cabbage is small. That will make this a soup rather than a dish of meatballs in boiled cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States