Chinese Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Did exactly as the recipe says, and it was a mess! I tweaked the recipe a lot and made a decent meal from it. I wish I would've read the reviews first and saved myself so much trouble. Learn from my mistakes and always read the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
A little too much viniger taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this and my entire family loved it! This is a great recipe! But the pudding didn't mix well.But still,it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I'm gluten intolerant, so it has been difficult for me to find good asian recipes that I could make. When I found this one made with corn flour I was thrilled. It has quickly become a household favorite and I have shared it with many of my gluten free friends and they love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Fields

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Moody Afb, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Wayyy sweet and kinda goopy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this dish with a vegetarian twist and used 1 package of extra firm tofu instead of chicken. I first cut the tofu into 3 cutlets and marinaded them. I doubled the marinade ingredients and added the juice of one lemon. After marinating the tofu I cut it into 1/2 to 1 inch cubes and tossed with 1 tablespoon corn starch and two tablespoons flour to coat. I then pan fried the tofu in vegetable oil and drained it on paper towels. For the sauce I doubled the ingredients and added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. I was hesitant on added the pudding mix as I did not want a dessert flavor but it actually turned out quite well. I recommend this dish for its delicious taste, easy preparation, and the ability to change it to suite individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe! I've been looking for an easy lemon chicken recipe and this is the one. We used lemon juice instead of lemon, and accidentally used lemon jello mix instead of pudding mix. It was terrifically sweet - just like restaurants - you could leave out a little of the sugar I think. Served with steamed broccoli, it was an easy dish for Sunday night. I highly recommend it if you like lemon chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I love love loved this recipe. I changed a few things, like no oyster juice & I didn't have a lemon so I used lemon juice, extra water & honey. Also I used chicken breast rather than the chicken thighs. For veggies I added sliced asparagus that I fried with the chicken & some butter. Served over rice this meal was a hit & everyone wants me to make it again. The trick with the sauce for me was to use 2 cups of water, it makes more sauce & isn't too thick :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
The sauce recipe is really awful. Why on earth would you want to ruin a dish with instant lemon pudding? Instead, use about 1 cup chicken broth, the juice of 2 lemons, 1 tablespoon honey and 1 tablespoon of corn starch (aka cornflour). Whisk all of these together while cold, then bring to a light boil while stirring constantly. Cook until the sauce becomes transparent and begins to thicken, then remove from heat and top chicken. This will make a much tastier and healthier sauce. Don't forget to throw in some steamed broccoli or asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
The chicken has a great taste, I am having problems with keeping the sauce from getting lumps when the pudding is added. Working on that one. Good recipe overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States