Chinese Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
The sauce recipe is really awful. Why on earth would you want to ruin a dish with instant lemon pudding? Instead, use about 1 cup chicken broth, the juice of 2 lemons, 1 tablespoon honey and 1 tablespoon of corn starch (aka cornflour). Whisk all of these together while cold, then bring to a light boil while stirring constantly. Cook until the sauce becomes transparent and begins to thicken, then remove from heat and top chicken. This will make a much tastier and healthier sauce. Don't forget to throw in some steamed broccoli or asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
after i made this recipe, my daughter, my husband, and i had to go get take out for dinner. It was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
My husband loved it and requested I make it again soon. I added breadcrumbs to the flour for some extra crispiness. Next time I will make more sauce. A great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
I would leave out the 3 tablespoons of sugar in the sauce, it was too sweet for my taste, you can always add it if you think it needs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This dish is excellent because of it's flavor and the crispy chicken smothered in lemon sauce,for any lemon fan this dish is for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe was really good. The flavors melded well, although I would have added a little more lemon to the sauce. I don't eat chicken thighs, so I made it with boneless, skinless breasts and it was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I tweaked this receipe and my husband and family loved it. I used leftover cooked chicken,omitted oyster sauce,used 1tsp. splenda,reg. flour,omitted the 3 Tbls of sugar and sesame seeds. I sauted some pineapple chunks,cut in half,in a little butter/oleo and brown sugar and added to the dish. Excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TREASACH
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was pretty good! We only used half the sugar, and it was still sweet enough. I would not recommend cutting the chicken before cooking; it was harder to 'bread' lots of little pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
We really loved this recipe. I never added the 3 Tbsp.sugar. I marinated my chicken for about 5 hours. Will definitely make this again and again. Tasted just like the lemon chicken at our favorite Chinese Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this dish with a vegetarian twist and used 1 package of extra firm tofu instead of chicken. I first cut the tofu into 3 cutlets and marinaded them. I doubled the marinade ingredients and added the juice of one lemon. After marinating the tofu I cut it into 1/2 to 1 inch cubes and tossed with 1 tablespoon corn starch and two tablespoons flour to coat. I then pan fried the tofu in vegetable oil and drained it on paper towels. For the sauce I doubled the ingredients and added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. I was hesitant on added the pudding mix as I did not want a dessert flavor but it actually turned out quite well. I recommend this dish for its delicious taste, easy preparation, and the ability to change it to suite individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States