Chinese Lemon Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
The sauce recipe is really awful. Why on earth would you want to ruin a dish with instant lemon pudding? Instead, use about 1 cup chicken broth, the juice of 2 lemons, 1 tablespoon honey and 1 tablespoon of corn starch (aka cornflour). Whisk all of these together while cold, then bring to a light boil while stirring constantly. Cook until the sauce becomes transparent and begins to thicken, then remove from heat and top chicken. This will make a much tastier and healthier sauce. Don't forget to throw in some steamed broccoli or asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
after i made this recipe, my daughter, my husband, and i had to go get take out for dinner. It was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
My husband loved it and requested I make it again soon. I added breadcrumbs to the flour for some extra crispiness. Next time I will make more sauce. A great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2000
I would leave out the 3 tablespoons of sugar in the sauce, it was too sweet for my taste, you can always add it if you think it needs more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
This dish is excellent because of it's flavor and the crispy chicken smothered in lemon sauce,for any lemon fan this dish is for you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This recipe was really good. The flavors melded well, although I would have added a little more lemon to the sauce. I don't eat chicken thighs, so I made it with boneless, skinless breasts and it was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I tweaked this receipe and my husband and family loved it. I used leftover cooked chicken,omitted oyster sauce,used 1tsp. splenda,reg. flour,omitted the 3 Tbls of sugar and sesame seeds. I sauted some pineapple chunks,cut in half,in a little butter/oleo and brown sugar and added to the dish. Excellant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TREASACH
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This was pretty good! We only used half the sugar, and it was still sweet enough. I would not recommend cutting the chicken before cooking; it was harder to 'bread' lots of little pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
We really loved this recipe. I never added the 3 Tbsp.sugar. I marinated my chicken for about 5 hours. Will definitely make this again and again. Tasted just like the lemon chicken at our favorite Chinese Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I made this dish with a vegetarian twist and used 1 package of extra firm tofu instead of chicken. I first cut the tofu into 3 cutlets and marinaded them. I doubled the marinade ingredients and added the juice of one lemon. After marinating the tofu I cut it into 1/2 to 1 inch cubes and tossed with 1 tablespoon corn starch and two tablespoons flour to coat. I then pan fried the tofu in vegetable oil and drained it on paper towels. For the sauce I doubled the ingredients and added the juice of 1/2 a lemon. I was hesitant on added the pudding mix as I did not want a dessert flavor but it actually turned out quite well. I recommend this dish for its delicious taste, easy preparation, and the ability to change it to suite individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States