Chinese Happy Family Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
add bit more soy sauce, ginger, red pepper and mushrooms. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This stir fry is a great base, but be careful because you can easily kill off the delicate flavors and have this turn into a rather bland and boring dish. I highly recommend adding some hoisin sauce for a sweet and smoky addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
That is a good start. But to have a true happy family you need to add a few things more. You need to have shrimp, scalops and chicken. Also needed is some pea pods along with the veggies. How I make mine is to start with onion, garlic, a little ginger, water chestnuts stir fry together. Add some mushrooms, and green pepper. Remove all items as you fry them in a wok and store them in the wok cover. Stir fry some carrots, and a little celery. removing as they are fried and keep in cover to allow flavors to visit. Stir some mushrooms of your choice and put them in the wok cover then stir fry the chicken, remove to a bowl, add the scalops remove to same bowl, then stir fry shirmp. Add scalops and chicken to wok and continue to heat. Add a mixture of corn starch and chicken broth and bring to boil and let thicken. when thickened, add the items in the wok cover back to make one big happy family. Served over sticky rice. All these flavors are sure happy to be together and they will make one happy family sitting at that dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillett, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Every "happy family" i've seen at chinese places has chicken, beef, pork, and some type of seafood...a happy family of different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Good easy recipe I've made more than once. I'm giving it 3 stars because it's neither the best nor very exciting to the palate. It tastes good and easy to keep the ingredients on hand. Look for a bigger bag of stir-fry veggies that includes bell peppers and baby corn and you're don't even have to spend the time cutting/opening cans of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
um um good I love the combination of stir fried veggies and chicken nice with rice and a good addition to a healthy diet I love Chinese food so naturlly I love this very delightful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johnnie Mendenhall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
As written, this was completely bland and boring. However, with a lot more soy sauce, a little sesame oil, and a generous glug of Hoison sauce, this wasn't bad at all. A few sliced mushrooms don't hurt either. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This turned out OK with some tweaking. I first sauted my chicken breasts in black bean sauce. I added some minced ginger and garlic to the veggies. Left out the corn and added pea pods and sliced carrots. I also threw in some BokChoi (sp???) Was pretty yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
As written, I thought this dish lacked flavor. Like Kez, I marinated my chicken and needed to add a lot more spices. I also used some garlic chili paste and a bit of oyster sauce. My Quality Cook friends and I make a dish together once a week and the recipe title seemed appropriate for our happy cooking family! Good base, but it really does require some tweaking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Very good will be a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Rempel Family Meatloaf

This family favorite is loaded with flavor.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States