Chinese Green Bean Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Quite good. Since my friend who requested green beans made like they make it at our favorite Chinese buffet wanted it with a teriaki sauce, and we couldn't find a black bean sauce at our grocery, I made a homemade teriaki instead. (Soy sauce, vinegar, honey, peach syrup, combined to taste, about 2 tbsp of the first two and 1 tbsp of the last two). I really love black bean sauce and think it would have been better as written, but it did turn out remarkably similar to our buffet's offering, so my friend was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This recipe was really good. I'm allergic to ginger so I left that out, I also left out the black bean sauce. I did add a little bit of chopped bacon though and... WOW! Super tasty!! Also, I recommend steaming the beans for a little while before cooking them until they are just slightly tender, I found that they fried better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I think I would have enjoyed this a lot more without the black bean sauce. The smell really bothered me and wasn't appetizing. I may have felt differently about this if someone else had cooked it far away from me, but as of now, I am traumatized and still trying to get this odor out of my apartment. I would give it another try and skip the black bean sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
My husband loved this! My daughter loves chinese green beans but these wasn't it. I also picked up the wrong black bean sauce and wanted the ones with chunky beans in them. I don't think the flavors will change but I just like it for texture and looks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I expected a little more taste from the black bean sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
mmmm beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
We did not care for this at all. I made exactly as written (after recalculating for 4 servings).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I used a reduced recipe for this. I followed directions specifically. The seasoning became like tar in the pot. I ended up having to rinse the final product to avoid serious flavor issues. After I rinsed the beans, the seasoning was still quite strong. So what's the deal? Not sure if I could have done something differently as I followed directions to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
It was kind of tangy and funky tasting but that may be because I used the wrong black bean sauce. I couldn't find it, and the guy at Trader Joe's directed me to black bean dip. This may have altered the dish too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ming
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I added some oyster sauce as well. Turn down the heat a bit to avoid burning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States