Chinese Green Bean Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Very tasty! I scaled back to 4 servings :-) and used peanut oil. As I was heating the oil I tossed in about a 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes to give it some more spice and I ended up omitting the black bean sauce because they looked so good as is I just plain forgot to add it. Would be good with some toasted sesame seeds sprinkled on near the end, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I can't believe I was able to make this delicious asian dish! I've never tried making anything like this before, and it turned out marvelously! I scaled it back to 4 servings and, since I don't have a wok, used a great big fry pan--it worked great! I covered it for the last 10 minutes and let it 'steam' and it seemed like it cooked the string beans more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIETOGO
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I have always love this dish when eating out at Chinese restaurants. It was really great to discover this recipe so that I could make it at home whenever I want. Sometimes I add cooked chicken breast or shrimp to this dish if I am craving some protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I've made this twice as a side dish, scaling the recipe WAY back. I seem to have a problem with the ginger and garlic scorching before the black bean sauce is added, and then the black bean sauce doing the same. I'm not sure what the remedy is. The second time I tried tossing a bit of water in with the sauce, and it may have helped a little. Nevertheless, the recipe does taste great. I LOVE chinese-style green beans. I am still hoping to find a way to keep everything but the beans from scorching on me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This recipe made a full meal when I added shrimp, snow peas, and shiitake mushrooms. I divided all the ingredients by 4, it made 4 servings for my boyfriend and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
After 30 minutes cooking, the beans were still crunchy! I can't even imagine how long it would take to make 40 servings! Could make this again but would definitely blanch or steam the beans prior to stir-frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
This recipe is terrific! I was having a craving for stir fry beans and this tastes very authentic to me. I scaled it to two servings since I only had 3/4 lbs of fresh green beans. It was so flavorful I sat and ate almost the whole bowl myself! Thanks for sharing this recipe Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was superb.. even cold the beans were tasty. I served this with Szechaun Shrimp from this site and really enjoyed my dinner. Next time I think I might try this with a mix of black bean and hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
(As stated, this recipe makes 40 servings.) I usually omit the garlic because there is already plenty in the garlic & black bean sauce I use. This is a very quick, easy and tasty dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
This is an easy quick dish I serve with Chicken Teriyaki and rice. Not exactly the same as in a restaurant, but close enough. My kids are picky, buy this is one of the few vegetable dishes they enjoy. Definitely omit the salt and adjust seasoning to your own taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States