Chinese Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wonderful flavor!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Kind of wonky. Why would you bread chicken and then simmer it in broth?! Although no breading was left on the chicken, at least it gave the resulting sauce some body. Flavor was good, technique aside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This turned out great! I cut the amount of chicken in half and added lots of vegetables. I used mushrooms, broccoli and red pepper but I think any veggie would be good. Some reviews said it was a little bland so added a little red pepper flakes which gave it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a new favorite at my house! I followed the recipe exactly but used sherry instead of the Chinese wine. Served the chicken over rice with cabbage, green beans, onions, green peppers, mushrooms and water chestnuts. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I absolutely love (and order) Garlic Chicken every time I visit a Chinese food restaurant and was very much hoping I'd be able to cook something similar at home - THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME AND TASTED GREAT! What was best is that its a very simple recipe to follow and you can add any veggies you want. I didn't have the Shao-Hsing or dry sherry and for only a few TBSP didn't want to buy it so I used a little soy sauce in it's place. It was delicious! Didn't change another thing with the base recipe but added my own veggies during the simmering phase. Thanks for a great recipe I know I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
it was better then manchewok jk its not but its better then dq and b king
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was absolutely great! A few significant changes: I threw some whole dried red peppers, the mexican type you find at the grocery stores, in with the whole garlic to add some heat. Some cornstarch to thicken the sauce, and I toasted some sesame seeds and sprinkled those over the top after dishing. Easily the best Chinese dish I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is very good. Didn't change a thing. Made it for my husband, dad, and kids (5 & 2) and everyone loved it. My husband and dad kept saying "mmmm" the whole time they ate! Served it with white rice, chinese salad and lean cuisine spring rolls. It's such a quick and easy recipe to prepare...I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
It cooked to a beautiful golden brown and the aroma was mouthwatering and if you added corn starch it made a wonderful gravy; however it seemed to lack something in the flavors. I did have to use a dry sherry so I'm will to hedge that might have been it. Ended up having to add tons of salt but that only went so far. It is worth a shot especially if you prefer subtle flavors over bold ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
A+!! This was so yummy and full of flavor. My whole family loved it. I did use white pepper in place of the black pepper. it gave it more of a asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States