Chinese Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I used extra light olive oil instead of peanut oil, and cooking sherry intead of Shao-Hsing cooking wine, also 2 to 3 tbsp. of minced garlic because this is what I had on hand. I simmered on med low, uncovered for the 20 minutes. Served with steamed Jasmine rice (my favorite). My picky husband and 7 year old grandson LOVED it. I steamed sliced carrots with a little butter (we only use real butter) and those went over well also. Great meal! Next time I won't be using the salt since soy sauce is already salty enough. Bad for my high blood pressure. 1 serving of this recipie with 1 cup of Jasmine rice is about 320 calories, and is heart healthy too! For dessert I made a strawberry, kiwi, spinach smoothie with 1/2 tsp. of pure vanilla for my husband and I 165 calories. 30 calories for the serving of carrots. 515 deliciously healthy calories for the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This recipe had very good flavor and cured my craving for Chinese food. I used half of the recomended garlic and I will still have to warn my co-workers but it was tasty and easy to make. I also added a little vinegar and sugar because I like my sauce a bit sweet and I added carrots and broccoli for crunch. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane C. Amundsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Wonderful flavor!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Kind of wonky. Why would you bread chicken and then simmer it in broth?! Although no breading was left on the chicken, at least it gave the resulting sauce some body. Flavor was good, technique aside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This turned out great! I cut the amount of chicken in half and added lots of vegetables. I used mushrooms, broccoli and red pepper but I think any veggie would be good. Some reviews said it was a little bland so added a little red pepper flakes which gave it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a new favorite at my house! I followed the recipe exactly but used sherry instead of the Chinese wine. Served the chicken over rice with cabbage, green beans, onions, green peppers, mushrooms and water chestnuts. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I absolutely love (and order) Garlic Chicken every time I visit a Chinese food restaurant and was very much hoping I'd be able to cook something similar at home - THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME AND TASTED GREAT! What was best is that its a very simple recipe to follow and you can add any veggies you want. I didn't have the Shao-Hsing or dry sherry and for only a few TBSP didn't want to buy it so I used a little soy sauce in it's place. It was delicious! Didn't change another thing with the base recipe but added my own veggies during the simmering phase. Thanks for a great recipe I know I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
it was better then manchewok jk its not but its better then dq and b king
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was absolutely great! A few significant changes: I threw some whole dried red peppers, the mexican type you find at the grocery stores, in with the whole garlic to add some heat. Some cornstarch to thicken the sauce, and I toasted some sesame seeds and sprinkled those over the top after dishing. Easily the best Chinese dish I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is very good. Didn't change a thing. Made it for my husband, dad, and kids (5 & 2) and everyone loved it. My husband and dad kept saying "mmmm" the whole time they ate! Served it with white rice, chinese salad and lean cuisine spring rolls. It's such a quick and easy recipe to prepare...I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

See how to make a quick stir-fry with plenty of garlic and crunchy veggies.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States