Chinese Garlic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This turned out great! I cut the amount of chicken in half and added lots of vegetables. I used mushrooms, broccoli and red pepper but I think any veggie would be good. Some reviews said it was a little bland so added a little red pepper flakes which gave it a nice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a new favorite at my house! I followed the recipe exactly but used sherry instead of the Chinese wine. Served the chicken over rice with cabbage, green beans, onions, green peppers, mushrooms and water chestnuts. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I absolutely love (and order) Garlic Chicken every time I visit a Chinese food restaurant and was very much hoping I'd be able to cook something similar at home - THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME AND TASTED GREAT! What was best is that its a very simple recipe to follow and you can add any veggies you want. I didn't have the Shao-Hsing or dry sherry and for only a few TBSP didn't want to buy it so I used a little soy sauce in it's place. It was delicious! Didn't change another thing with the base recipe but added my own veggies during the simmering phase. Thanks for a great recipe I know I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
it was better then manchewok jk its not but its better then dq and b king
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This was absolutely great! A few significant changes: I threw some whole dried red peppers, the mexican type you find at the grocery stores, in with the whole garlic to add some heat. Some cornstarch to thicken the sauce, and I toasted some sesame seeds and sprinkled those over the top after dishing. Easily the best Chinese dish I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is very good. Didn't change a thing. Made it for my husband, dad, and kids (5 & 2) and everyone loved it. My husband and dad kept saying "mmmm" the whole time they ate! Served it with white rice, chinese salad and lean cuisine spring rolls. It's such a quick and easy recipe to prepare...I definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
It cooked to a beautiful golden brown and the aroma was mouthwatering and if you added corn starch it made a wonderful gravy; however it seemed to lack something in the flavors. I did have to use a dry sherry so I'm will to hedge that might have been it. Ended up having to add tons of salt but that only went so far. It is worth a shot especially if you prefer subtle flavors over bold ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
A+!! This was so yummy and full of flavor. My whole family loved it. I did use white pepper in place of the black pepper. it gave it more of a asian flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was awesome! My family loved it, and my husband said it was almost as good as when he gets it at our favorite Chinese place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
My husband is chinese so we have the Shiao hsing on hand at all times. I add minced garlic at the same time as the whole cloves. I also add chopped zucchini the last 5 minutes or so to have a vegetable in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States