Chinese Fried Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Highly recommended!! This reminds me of the walnuts that come with sweet fried shrimps that is my husband's favorite at Chinese restaurant. Figuring out the temperature and how long to keep the nuts in the oil was a bit of challenge but I learned after the first batch. This is a great appetizer and very easy and fast to make. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
This is very good. I sprinkle toasted sesame seeds when ready to serve. Make sure you watch the walnuts, for they burn pretty fast. I didn't add salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
These are so very much like a nationally known brand of "Glazed Walnuts", but, without the sesame seeds. Thanks for the posting and the money savings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Just finished a batch and Yum! I was so happy to find these--my mom made them every New Year's but we both lost the recipe long ago. The nuts do burn easily. Mine cooked in half the time listed over a very modest medium heat. The salt is optional, but I recommend it because it adds a nice bit of zing. Thanks so much for sharing this! Can't wait to send the recipe off to Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novelist Lisa Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These were a big hit at a recent family party. I doubled the recipe and used half walnuts and half pecans. Think I liked the walnuts better, but both were very good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
My grandma made these every Christmas, I absolutely love them! Glad to find the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Yum! Very easy, if you don't do the stupid things I did! 1. READ the instructions all the way through. My first inclination was to drain them on paper towels. My first (albeit very very small) batch has tiny paper towel pieces stuck to them. 2. Don't use a SMALL saucepan. That's a good way to start your kitchen on fire (I really really didn't burn anything down, I promise). Other than that, easy recipe, delicious snack!! Thanks! *** UPDATE - I made these on Sunday and they were fabulous. On Tuesday, I had a few of the leftovers. Not so fabulous! Be sure to make small batches, what you can eat in one or two days. Beyond that, not so great! I guess these won't be part of my Christmas gift baskets this year =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very easy and ohhhh so good! My mom is going to just die when I tell her I can make these myself instead of having to call in for Chinese :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
My Grandma made these for every holiday and family get together! they are hands down the BEST food, snack, appetizer or whatever you want to call them. Just be sure to fry them long enough or they wont have enough crunch! test one walnut at a time until you find the right fry time then do in small batches. I like extra salt but either way you cant go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I've been making these for years. They are excellent and well received as a gift. Easy to make but be careful they brown up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States