Chinese Five Spice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
very good recipe, everything works together even better than the store bought versions. I made a variation from the original and added a tablespoon of powdered ginger to the mix instead of the pepper. hope this helps somebody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was wonderful! I ended up mixing half of this with a half cup of brown sugar and rubbing it on raw chicken. I then sprinkled soy sauce over the top. Considering that chinese five spice is so expensive, it's really better that I can make it at home. This way, I'm not out seven dollars for a spice I might only use a couple of times. I'll use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
you saved my knickers when i needed the 5-spice. I had all the ingredients I just didn't know what 5-spice consisted of. This was great! It's ready to use for other things now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEERNNYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Thank you soooo much for this. I have recently been trying my hand at some Asian recipes and when some called for the Five Spice I was clueless as to what it was exactly and could not find it in stores. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUTmyFOOTinIT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
very fun seasoning, just the right spice for weeknight wonton soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
So much cheaper than buying a bottle of this mix. I had everything in my pantry to make it already. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochi-K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Would love the other versions you make. Posted to facebook how much I loved this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Love this blend. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Phillips Lipsett
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Millville, Massachusetts, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States