Chinese Five Spice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
you saved my knickers when i needed the 5-spice. I had all the ingredients I just didn't know what 5-spice consisted of. This was great! It's ready to use for other things now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEERNNYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Thank you soooo much for this. I have recently been trying my hand at some Asian recipes and when some called for the Five Spice I was clueless as to what it was exactly and could not find it in stores. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUTmyFOOTinIT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was wonderful! I ended up mixing half of this with a half cup of brown sugar and rubbing it on raw chicken. I then sprinkled soy sauce over the top. Considering that chinese five spice is so expensive, it's really better that I can make it at home. This way, I'm not out seven dollars for a spice I might only use a couple of times. I'll use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
very good recipe, everything works together even better than the store bought versions. I made a variation from the original and added a tablespoon of powdered ginger to the mix instead of the pepper. hope this helps somebody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
very fun seasoning, just the right spice for weeknight wonton soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SisterSarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
So much cheaper than buying a bottle of this mix. I had everything in my pantry to make it already. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mochi-K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Would love the other versions you make. Posted to facebook how much I loved this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Love this blend. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Millville, Massachusetts, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States