Chinese Five Spice Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by chengdu
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I added cumin because I did not have enough five spices powder. But this recipe is great! I would've liked the ribs to be softer so maybe 10 more minutes in the oven next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
The ribs were phenomenal. I used three pounds of Saint Louis Style ribs cut into individual ribs and I doubled the marinade to make I had enough to cover the extra ribs. I made my own five spice powder. Otherwise I followed the recipe. They gave off a wonderful aroma while cooking and the meat nearly fell off the bones. These are some of the best oven baked ribs I have had. My wife liked them but thought they were only OK. I will be making these again even if only for myself. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pine River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Very unique flavor. Easy to prepare and a real treat around our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I made this for my husband as he loves Chinese ribs and he loved it. I even got a big kiss after he ate it! It was just like what you would get from a Chinese but better :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
dry,,very dry..flavor was not to my liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
The taste was very good, even though I didn't have the time to marinate it as long as suggested. The only reason I'm not giving it five stars is because they were a little dry for our taste, despite making more marinade than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inexcelsis
Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
These didn't taste bad, but they didn't taste good either. In fact, even after the full marinating time, they didn't taste like much of anything. They were tender, but that's about all I can say about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Excellent recipes. Very easy to make. The only change I made was I substituted white wine vinegar for white cooking wine since that was all I had. Our 15 year old grandson filled his plate twice, leaving us with three single ribs each. Guess he liked them. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Very good and predictable. I did cook it with the marinade in the pan. After roasting an hour I poured off the drippings, separated and strained the juice and made a sauce with a little cornstarch. Added just a touch of sugar as well. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very good, but don't forget to turn the ribs as they will dry out and get too crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States