Chinese Firecrackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
What a fun food! We had these for Chinese New Year. They were not as hard to make as I thought they would be, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I wanted to give this 3 stars for the recipe as written, but with some additional changs and my guests responses, I will give it 4 stars. I am a spice wimp so I dont know if I had a weak chili sauce or what, but I doubled the chili sauce and still didnt think they were that spicy. Also, per other reviews, I added a big spoonful of peanutbutter and some terriyaki sauce and used half turkey/half pork. I doubled the recipe so it was definitely time consuming to wrap all of them up! I would definitely recommend either baking them right away or freezing them- I transported them to a party and baked them there and some of them got sticky and fell apart before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Awesome recipe!!! I made these for my family and we all loved them. I did not have ground turkey, so I substituded ground pork. They were awesome! Also passed the recipe along to a few people. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
So, soooo yummy! I used ground chicken and the next time I think I'll try it with spring roll pastry like someone else suggested as they were a little too flaky for me with the phyllo. YUMMERS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Very good! I ended up with 11 "firecrackers", so I guess my tablespoons were generous. The chile paste I used was actually "Chile, Garlic & Ginger" paste. I really appreciate how much better these are for you than deep fried. Great with plum sauce. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
These were very good - next time I think I will use won ton wraps instead of phyllo dough...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made these for the 4th of July :) As I cooked everything together I felt it needed something extra so I added sea salt, garlic and ginger...It was perfect!! I finally got the hang of the fillo dough and I made the hot & sweet sauce I found here too. It was PERFECT!! My daughter & I are on weight watchers so I used PAM instead of oil on the fillo dough and used Splenda instead of sugar in the Sweet & Spicy Sauce. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Family loved these!! Made these for Father's Day and company raved. Made a few changes, used extra lean ground chicken, added garlic, fresh grated ginger, used sesame oil instead of veg oil(which gave it more of an Asian flare), used cole slaw mix instead of cabbage and added more shredded carrots. I tried to make the twisted Firecracker look.....didnt happen, phyllo just broke and tore. So, I just made them eggroll fashion, started to roll them, folded in the sides and continue to roll, they looked great and tasted even better. I also didnt use any oil for the phyllo, I sprayed them with olive oil Pam. Served them with Thai Chili sauce and a Sesame soy dipping sauce. Delicious....next time, I might try a different wrapper but this was worth the efforts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
made hot & sweet sauce off these web site---delicious with these Fcrackers! Excellent. Also used Pam spray between phyllo instead of brushed oil. Used pork instead of turkey---can't stop eatting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Love these! Always get compliments when I bring them to a gathering (although sometimes I have to cut down on the chili garlic sauce) to please others. Plum sauce or honey garlic, etc. goes nicely for dipping. You can also freeze them (before the baking stage) between layers of wax paper in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States