Chinese Eggplant Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Seriously bland. Far too much flour. Far too little actual spice. A pinch of cayenne against two cups of flour was meaningless. After my test batch I added 1/2 cup of hot curry, a tablespoon of paprika, and a tablespoon of tumeric. That made it rather tasty but is obviously nothing like the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
The process of making these were a bit annoying. I only dipped them once because doing that a second time was time consuming. I did put spices in the flour, and I seasoned the eggplants before hand. Lastly after dipping them into the flour I rolled them in some Italian Breadcrumbs, and they turned out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I didn't have corn meal, so I tried using breadcrumbs instead. I replaced the veggie oil with coconut oil - was very good! Had some that were in veggie oil and they were more soggy and just tasted more oily. I'd recommend coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I tried these and must say that we all loved them. I don't like any vegetables and have been trying to try new things this summer. I had never liked eggplant and my husband and daughter had never tried eggplant. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this recipe just the way it was,with the exact ingredients called for. I thought this was an excellent recipe,so did my better half. We did use a dip-Ranch and it made the fries even more delish.Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I agree they were bland. We added lots of extra cayenne, some adobo and allspice and they tasted a little better. The eggplant underneath the batter was good. They definitely need some kind of complimentary dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
These were okay. I wouldn't go out to buy another eggplant just to make them, but if I got another eggplant in my bountiful baskets, I would make them again. I added garlic powder and onion powder to the flour/cornmeal mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
much better with italian bread crumbs with parm cheese added....and since they get more of an italian twist this way try dippin them in a maranara sauce!!! let me know what u think!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beej143
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Taste was great, but not worth the mess. The egg didn't last long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I'm not an expert cook by any means, but the breading was somewhat bland and the oil combination caused a ton of smoke in my house. The eggplant tasted ok after we added an excess amount of cayenne and salt and pepper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejenny

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States