Chinese Egg Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
I played around a bit and came to the following conclusions: 1) 2 cups chicken broth (plain) to one egg 2) add about two teaspoons of soy sauce 3) forget the peas 4) green onion is nice if you have it An Easter-egg blower makes it easy to add the egg slowly to the boiling broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
Quick and simple, but still has that restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME! This is definately a keeper. Very good in very little time. You dont have to even have the peas. Just the broth and the egg is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I loved it! Fast and easy to make I added tariaki sauce about 2 T and a chopped up mushroom this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This recipe was good. I probably changed it so much it is a whole new recipe. I used 2 cans (14 ounces each) of chicken broth, 1/8 of a teaspoon sesame oil, 1 cup of peas and carrots instead of just peas, and 2 eggs. The recipe as written is 4 stars, as made 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I was suprised at how good this was because its SO easy!. I did cut the broth in half though. I boiled 2 cups of water, tossed in a knorr's chicken bouillon cube then when that dissolved I slowly added the egg. I think 1 egg for 2 cups of broth was perfect for me. I skipped the peas and the green onion (because we are out) I dont think it needs the peas but would be even better with the green onion. After cooking I just added a dash of white pepper and that was it. My husband did not want to try it at first because he has tried the egg drop soup at chinese restuarants before and never liked it. When he tried this, he didn't want to stop eating it! My 2 year old also really liked it. Thank you for this recipe, I think I will be making it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is a great easy soup to make. It's a great soup to make when you are sick and has ingredients I always have in it so no need to make a special trip to the store. Perfect cold/flu soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a very easy, very good soup. I used two eggs and liked that very much. I didn't have the green onion, but wish I did; I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I was surprised. It is quite good and so easy to make. Will surely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I really enjoyed this. It was simple, quick, and tasty. The only difference I made was to use ~1c. frozen mixed veggies. (This was because I didn't have just peas frozen and didn't want to use canned peas, and then forgot to look back at the recipe to verify adding the right amount. :P) The veggies give the soup a mild sweetness to it to accent the saltiness of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States