Chinese Egg Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Great soup. I made this tonight accompanied with Marian Collins' Baked Teriyaki Chicken and Jostrander's Fried Rice. Absolutely excellent and much cheaper than going out for Chinese food. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it was fantastic, and oh so easy to prepare. Thanks "akhowell" a for sure keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Just made this because I was curious how easy it would be. Though I HATE the kind in the chinese resturants this was AMAZING! I was out of peas and green onions but its perfect just like it is! My 3 kids ages 7,6 and 2 were fighting over it! I tried it with chicken bullion and broth and both ways were yummy :) Just make sure your broth is BOILING when you put the eggs in or it will turn slushy. Weve eaten this 3 times in 2 days, even for breakfast! Pefect to sip and the protein is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
This turned out pretty well for me. I used 4 cups of stock and 4 eggs because I have chickens and needed to use up as many eggs as I could. I also added tofu for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is definitely a good starter but I, like others, prefer a different egg to broth ratio. I actually used 1 egg for every two cups of broth and might put even more in next time. I also was not a fan of the peas so next time I won't put those in. Also, I would whisk the eggs before putting them in the broth, to combine the yoke and the egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rochelle_fetters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: St. Ignatius, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Very good soup! Because I was out of chicken broth, I made my own using two bullion cubes (if you want less salt, just use one). And since I'm not a pea lover, a can of corn sufficed. Definitely a fast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was a very easy, very good soup. I used two eggs and liked that very much. I didn't have the green onion, but wish I did; I will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
we have been drinking this soup from coffee cups the past 2 mornings as a great breakfast soup in a cup takes all of 5min to make pour in a cup and go my wife hates eggs but loves this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigdaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this soup two times and both times it was just missing something. I made it with the peas, and I made it without the peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I was surprised. It is quite good and so easy to make. Will surely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I absolutely loved it! I had no idea what to do with my extra bag of split peas, so when I saw this, I was very happy ! It turned out really good. I'm going to use a Tbsp. of sesame oil and a Tbsp of grated ginger in it next time :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly13

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States