Chinese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
These cookies are excellent. They get rave reviews from everyone who tries them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Great Cookie!!! Just like the Chinese Cookies you get in the bakery. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
These have been my favorite cookies for many years. We always purchased them at the grocery store. Recently they changed the recipe and the cookies are terrible. We were so disappointed we actually sent them an e-mail to which they politely replied-- sorry, but tough! I was so thrilled to find this recipe. Cookies are delicious. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I thought these cookies were great - easy to make and delicious. I'll be making them again. I've been asked for the recipe already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I made these cookies for Xmas this year and they were so wonderful. I haven't had a cookie this good in a long time. Like the other Chrissy, I did not frost them. They didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I used to buy these when I was a kid and loved them. i get them every time I go home for a visit and was glad to see the recipe. I used margarine instead of shortening because I had it on hand that day. It gave them a bit of a sugar cookie taste but they were still really good. I will try shortening next time and see if they turn out more like the ones in the store. Awesome cookies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I wanted to update my review since I got creative this year and wanted to share. They are still one of my all-time favorite cookies. This year I separated the dough into halves, left one half vanilla, and then separated the 2nd half into thirds. I added cocoa powder to one, red coloring to another and green to the third, and then marbled the cookies. I coated the outside with chocolate sprinkles. I do recommend using somethihg like beaten egg white to coat the logs before rolling in nuts or sprinkles as they adhere better. They came out so pretty and tasted great, and were the highlight of my cookie tray. (The following is my old review). Thank you again! I had to try these since I've missed the cookies I used to buy in New York bakeries, and these were definitely it! I did leave out the walnuts, but instead tried to recreate some of the versions I remembered. I made the recipe twice; the first I left plain and used chocolate stars as a shortcut on some, dotted some with chocolate chips, and dipped some in chocolate sprinkles. For the 2nd batch, I took about half the dough (maybe a tad less) and added about 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa (and about 1 tsp of milk to make up for the dryness), and then swirled it together as I formed the log to make a marbled cookie (my remembered favorite version). I rolled the marble log in chocolate sprinkles, and boy were they good, and very impressive looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I have made these cookies four times now, and they've been an absolute hit. The last time I made them, I substituted lard for the Crisco, and they were even flakier and literally just melted in your mouth. These cookies absolutely rule.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicolette
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
After the local grocery store bakery stopped selling these cookies, I've been searching for a recipe that duplicates the taste -- and this is the one. Followed the recipe exactly as written, piping on a swirl of store bought chocolate frosting using a decorator's bag fitted with a large star tip. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I have to say that I will NEVER buy these cookies in the store again....This is very easy cookie to make and everyone loves them and can't believe they are home made!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States