Chinese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I do the same as the last reviewer and these are the BEST COOKIES. They are EXACTLY like the bakery. I take a blob of the dough and mix in some Special Dark cocoa, like maybe 1/3 cup. No measuring really! I also do not put so much melted ganache in center. I have also pressed the center dot into chocolate jimmies. If you run into someone who knows what a Chinese Cookie is, they will fall over when they taste them. EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I wanted to update my review since I got creative this year and wanted to share. They are still one of my all-time favorite cookies. This year I separated the dough into halves, left one half vanilla, and then separated the 2nd half into thirds. I added cocoa powder to one, red coloring to another and green to the third, and then marbled the cookies. I coated the outside with chocolate sprinkles. I do recommend using somethihg like beaten egg white to coat the logs before rolling in nuts or sprinkles as they adhere better. They came out so pretty and tasted great, and were the highlight of my cookie tray. (The following is my old review). Thank you again! I had to try these since I've missed the cookies I used to buy in New York bakeries, and these were definitely it! I did leave out the walnuts, but instead tried to recreate some of the versions I remembered. I made the recipe twice; the first I left plain and used chocolate stars as a shortcut on some, dotted some with chocolate chips, and dipped some in chocolate sprinkles. For the 2nd batch, I took about half the dough (maybe a tad less) and added about 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa (and about 1 tsp of milk to make up for the dryness), and then swirled it together as I formed the log to make a marbled cookie (my remembered favorite version). I rolled the marble log in chocolate sprinkles, and boy were they good, and very impressive looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This recipe is a very good base for the start of NY style chinese cookies. I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract and then marbled the dough with taking 1/3 of dough and adding in 1/3 c. of cocoa. Take and press it into the vanilla dough I omitted the walnuts as they gave it different taste then what I remember chinese cookies to have. I also melted chocolate chips with a bit of heavy cream to make the chocolate dollap in the center YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
It's true, they really do taste like the ones you'll buy in a grocery store!! Papachef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These got rave reviews at work. I had to add water to make the dough manageable. Otherwise it was crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I must have done something wrong, but I didn't have a good experience with these. I omitted walnuts and took other peoples recommendations and added the cocoa powder. They turned out looking like doodoo...the dough was not dough like. It was like it needed flour to become dough. It was runny, but not runny. I'm not making sense, but I followed the recipe exactly except for the walnuts and the cocoa powder. *sigh* I had so much hopes for this cookie, but I guess I'm doing it wrong. If anyone knows what I did wrong, let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildstyled

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Wow! These are amazing! I was pretty worried because they were awfully crumbly when I was try to roll into a log, but after sitting in the fridge it made them stick a bit more and they are just perfect. I will definitely make again. I also got 3-4 dozen out of these ingredients as listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made these exactly as the recipe stated. They are identical tasting to the ones I buy at our local grocery store. They are great. The only slight problem for me was the dough was dry and crumbled a bit when trying to roll it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Very good! Yes, they are just like the ones my mom used to buy from the grocery store, and I haven't been able to find. I used DH Creamy Homestyle frosting in Dark Chocolate Fudge. Also brushed the log of dough with egg white before rolling in the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenniN
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
Unbelieveable!! I have to agree with everyone else. I have always bought these cookies at the store, but this recipe tastes even better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States