Chinese Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
I wanted to update my review since I got creative this year and wanted to share. They are still one of my all-time favorite cookies. This year I separated the dough into halves, left one half vanilla, and then separated the 2nd half into thirds. I added cocoa powder to one, red coloring to another and green to the third, and then marbled the cookies. I coated the outside with chocolate sprinkles. I do recommend using somethihg like beaten egg white to coat the logs before rolling in nuts or sprinkles as they adhere better. They came out so pretty and tasted great, and were the highlight of my cookie tray. (The following is my old review). Thank you again! I had to try these since I've missed the cookies I used to buy in New York bakeries, and these were definitely it! I did leave out the walnuts, but instead tried to recreate some of the versions I remembered. I made the recipe twice; the first I left plain and used chocolate stars as a shortcut on some, dotted some with chocolate chips, and dipped some in chocolate sprinkles. For the 2nd batch, I took about half the dough (maybe a tad less) and added about 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa (and about 1 tsp of milk to make up for the dryness), and then swirled it together as I formed the log to make a marbled cookie (my remembered favorite version). I rolled the marble log in chocolate sprinkles, and boy were they good, and very impressive looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I used to buy these when I was a kid and loved them. i get them every time I go home for a visit and was glad to see the recipe. I used margarine instead of shortening because I had it on hand that day. It gave them a bit of a sugar cookie taste but they were still really good. I will try shortening next time and see if they turn out more like the ones in the store. Awesome cookies though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
I made these cookies for Xmas this year and they were so wonderful. I haven't had a cookie this good in a long time. Like the other Chrissy, I did not frost them. They didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
Great Cookie!!! Just like the Chinese Cookies you get in the bakery. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I thought these cookies were great - easy to make and delicious. I'll be making them again. I've been asked for the recipe already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
These cookies are excellent. They get rave reviews from everyone who tries them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I made these for Christmas with colored sprinkles and they looked and tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
It's a terrific recipe, friends begged us to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
When I was a child, the local bakery made these cookies called Chinese Tees. They were outstanding. The bakery has been gone for ages and I have had a hankering for these cookies ever since. This is the first recipe to come so close to the bakery's cookie. I used peanuts instead of walnuts (don't like them) and butter flavored shortening and didn't even bother with the frosting becuase these cookies don't need it! I will be making these cookies every Christmas and maybe even in between now! Thank you so much for this fabulous recipe. I recommend these to everyone! Oh and they are pretty easy to make although I made several smaller logs instead of one big one because rolling is not my strong point! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
FANTASTIC and TRUE to it's word! These are the EASIEST cookies to make, and taste as good, or BETTER than the bakery! It was hard for me to find a recipes for this...thank you so much for sharing it! ~~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HABERFAMILY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States