Chinese Cold Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Fabulous. I, too, only used 1 tsp of red pepper flakes and it was plenty spicy. I added a cup of shredded carrots and a little ginger. It is very easy. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
loved this recipe! i added carrots, snow peas and water chestnuts and it was great! i did use only half the pepper flakes and it ws still plenty hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
YUMMY! We recently moved and I couldn't find my cookbooks. I didn't want to spend a great deal of time in a hot kitchen and was dying for Cold Sesame Noodles. This is very good, very easy and very close to the recipe I was looking for. I used the full 2 tsp. of crushed red pepper because we like everything hot and spicy, but if you don't -- definitely cut the recipe back. I added about 1/2 - 1 tsp. red wine vinegar as that is called for in the original recipe (as well as soy sauce, etc.) and that helped round out the salad quite nicely. I made vegetarian broth in the microwave and added the peanut butter to that before putting it all in the large bowl and had no problem with the peanut butter breaking down. Once you let it sit it becomes less soupy, even with the whole wheat noodles I used. This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
This was quick and easy. The outcome was delicious. It turned out nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This was so delicious. I wanted to prepare a Chinese meal for my Mom and Dad and knew my Mom loved salads. I saw this and knew it would be unusual enough and fun and tasty. I couldn't add peppers because my family can't eat them but the rest of it is just the most wonderful flavor combination. I will make this a lot. As often as Mom will buy or grow cilantro at least!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dueser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is a great recipe...the first time I made it I had a hard time blending the peanut butter (tried the microwave as suggested but still had a hard time)but the second time I used an electric mixer to blend peanut butter with the soy sauce first, and then added the rest of the sauce ingredients and mixed again.Worked better for me that way. Also, I doubled the recipe. Tastes great the way it's written but I did add shredded carrot, water chestnuts, and thinly sauteed beef to make it a main meal. I love spicy things and half of the red pepper was plenty for me. This is a recipe I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This salad was a big hit at our New Years Eve party. I added minced ginger to the dressing and shredded cabbage, carrot julienne strips, and dry roasted peanuts to the salad. I found the peanut butter mixed more easily if you heat all the dressing ingredients, then chill completely or overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Unknown, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
We eat this all the time. Our daughter is allergic to nuts, so we make it with Pea-butter and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
It was great I added some diced chicken breast. I'll make this again. My picky girlfriend ate it up and even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I was so happy when I found this recipe! I studied in China for a summer and my absolute favorite dish was very similar to this one. If you want it to be like the one that I ate in Beijing, you should leave out the bell pepper and cilantro and add finely chopped little strips of cucumber. Also, they would throw in very small crouton-sized chunks of soft sourdough-tasting bread. It was always very spicy with LOTS of red pepper flakes and there was always LOTS of sauce - more than this recipe calls for - so that the bread would be soaked. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Julie!!! I am *so* happy to finally be able to eat my favorite Chinese dish again! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathbar
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States