Chinese Cold Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I didn't want to rate this recipe b/c it wouldn't be fair to the original poster however I wanted to share my experience so no one else would make the same mistakes I did!!!! I tried to lighten this recipe with whole wheat fettucine and reduced fat PB--and while I added more fiber and reduced the calories--I could not eat the salad. I will make again and follow the original recipe and I am sure it will be delicious!!! I have lightened up many recipes with great success but this was NOT the case with this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
Solid recipe. I used cayenne instead of red pepper flakes because I had it, and it was fine. Also added salt. Good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
We eat this all the time. Our daughter is allergic to nuts, so we make it with Pea-butter and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Fabulous. I, too, only used 1 tsp of red pepper flakes and it was plenty spicy. I added a cup of shredded carrots and a little ginger. It is very easy. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
REALLY EASY. I added about a cup of shredded carrots and ginger. I also took the advice of others and only used 1 teapsoon of red pepper flakes and it was still really spicy. Quick and easy I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Larry Hayes
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is a very traditional tasting dish and just too easy to prepare. I would cut down on the red pepper some it is a little hot if that is not your thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Hayes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This is really easy and delicious. I added a can of drained black beans for extra protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This salad was a big hit at our New Years Eve party. I added minced ginger to the dressing and shredded cabbage, carrot julienne strips, and dry roasted peanuts to the salad. I found the peanut butter mixed more easily if you heat all the dressing ingredients, then chill completely or overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Unknown, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
WOW! Very spicey with all the red pepper in it! Very good, but has a bit of a bite to it! Next time I will reduce the pepper a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is a great recipe...the first time I made it I had a hard time blending the peanut butter (tried the microwave as suggested but still had a hard time)but the second time I used an electric mixer to blend peanut butter with the soy sauce first, and then added the rest of the sauce ingredients and mixed again.Worked better for me that way. Also, I doubled the recipe. Tastes great the way it's written but I did add shredded carrot, water chestnuts, and thinly sauteed beef to make it a main meal. I love spicy things and half of the red pepper was plenty for me. This is a recipe I will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cold Pasta Salad

Watch how easy it is to make this pasta salad with fresh tomatoes and cucumbers.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States