Chinese Coconut Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this today. Firstly, it's not pudding; it's coconut flavored gelatin mixed with meringue. The texture is weird (so is the color since evaporated milk is brownish): foamy egg whites and glops of gelatin folded together. Two textures that really don't marry we'll. The only thing that makes it coconut flavored is the extract. Once chilled it is a little bit refreshing but not enough to make me want to make it again. Thanks Yi-Fun Hsuesh for sharing...it just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Very good and refreshing but i thought it needed more flavor so i added some vanilla extract and almond extract. Sounds gross but tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I can definitely see how this would go over well with kids (offered some to a friend and she wouldn't touch it lol). But I found it lumpy (maybe I'm not adding the egg whites properly), too sweet and I've seen someone else reviewing saying they substituted real coconut milk. Maybe that would make it better. And the evaporated milk does give it an off-white color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Thanks for putting up this recipe. Great dessert! Too sweet though. I'll use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
It has really good flavor but the consistency is a little strange. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was gross. It did set properly, but tasted NOTHING like coconut pudding. Unless you like the taste of beaten egg whites, I won't recommend this recipe written as is. Try maybe with coconut milk or cream, maybe itll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I used 5 oz. of cream of coconut & omitted all the sugar as it is plenty sweet on it's own. I also omitted the coconut extract as I am out & with the use of the cream of coconut, I don't feel it was needed anyway. Thsi held it's shape very well after unmolding w/out having too gelatinous a texture. It's texture was very similiar to an airy meringue....very enjoyable. I unmolded it onto an antique dessert plate & garnished w/ toasted coconut. Very nice asian dessert....thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Taste like restaurant quality dim sum. We used Carnation evaporated milk and was a little disappointed in the color. I remember the restaurant pudding being really white, but the evaporated milk causes it to be more of an off white color, which definitely hurts the presentation. Taste great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
ok, but I think if I make it again I will use whipped cream instead of egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Yum! This recipe is quick & easy. As suggested by Jillian88 I substituted coconut cream for the evaporated milk and coconut extract. However, I'll use less sugar next time as I found 1 cup to be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States