Chinese Coconut Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This was a pretty good recipe. I tried it while doing a family movie night with a movie and themed food (The Joy Luck Club) and it was fabulous! My family thought it tasted sorta like coconut jello. That might be because I added 2 and a half unflavored gelatin packets so it was more like jello instead of pudding. But it tasted delicious! I garnished the top with coconut for looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this today. Firstly, it's not pudding; it's coconut flavored gelatin mixed with meringue. The texture is weird (so is the color since evaporated milk is brownish): foamy egg whites and glops of gelatin folded together. Two textures that really don't marry we'll. The only thing that makes it coconut flavored is the extract. Once chilled it is a little bit refreshing but not enough to make me want to make it again. Thanks Yi-Fun Hsuesh for sharing...it just isn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Very good and refreshing but i thought it needed more flavor so i added some vanilla extract and almond extract. Sounds gross but tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I can definitely see how this would go over well with kids (offered some to a friend and she wouldn't touch it lol). But I found it lumpy (maybe I'm not adding the egg whites properly), too sweet and I've seen someone else reviewing saying they substituted real coconut milk. Maybe that would make it better. And the evaporated milk does give it an off-white color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Thanks for putting up this recipe. Great dessert! Too sweet though. I'll use less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
It has really good flavor but the consistency is a little strange. The kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This was gross. It did set properly, but tasted NOTHING like coconut pudding. Unless you like the taste of beaten egg whites, I won't recommend this recipe written as is. Try maybe with coconut milk or cream, maybe itll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I used 5 oz. of cream of coconut & omitted all the sugar as it is plenty sweet on it's own. I also omitted the coconut extract as I am out & with the use of the cream of coconut, I don't feel it was needed anyway. Thsi held it's shape very well after unmolding w/out having too gelatinous a texture. It's texture was very similiar to an airy meringue....very enjoyable. I unmolded it onto an antique dessert plate & garnished w/ toasted coconut. Very nice asian dessert....thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Taste like restaurant quality dim sum. We used Carnation evaporated milk and was a little disappointed in the color. I remember the restaurant pudding being really white, but the evaporated milk causes it to be more of an off white color, which definitely hurts the presentation. Taste great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
ok, but I think if I make it again I will use whipped cream instead of egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States