Chinese Cocktail Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These came out awesome. Just like the ones from the Chinese bakery. I know some reviewers were commenting that the filling were crumbly but that's how I always got them from the bakery. Love the recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipie I had to do for an assignment I thoughht it would not taste so good and i thought it had actual achohaul in it but it doesn't, and it tastes really good. Also appropret for school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cushing, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were delicious and easy to make. They were quite popular at a Chinese New Year's celebration dinner. They all disappeared within minutes. One fresh coconut was perfect for doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful dough for any sweet thing. I made these buns and cinnamon rolls with the same dough. It also freezes beautifully. After I put it back in the fridge to use the next day, I didn't get to it for a few days AND it still rose and baked BEAUTIFUL cinnamon rolls. BUT... There is only one thing that's missing and that's salt. It is a bit bland without adding salt. Maybe it was accidentally forgotten in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious. I have made them yesterday. We all loved them. The only change I made, substituted dry milk powder with vanilla instant puding mix, and since I think there is no need for aditional 1/2 cup of flour in the filling, I added 1/2 cup milk. Next time will add a little bit more for a more creamy consistency. Will certanly make again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fionaellie2
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just made these today and they turned out delicious, just like the bakery (see pic I added)! My husband was even impressed. I used dry whole milk instead of non-fat and it tasted great. Next time I will try and use different fillings, like custard or milk-n-raisin. This recipe is a keeper! The dough recipe itself is just like the Hawaiian sweet rolls. Great recipe, thanks Liang!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The bun came out just perfect. Everyone liked the filling. Will try red bean paste filling next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Just made them and extremely impressed with how they turned out! Taste exactly how the Chinese bakeries make 'em! Instead of making them oblong shape, I made them round and put black sesame instead. Also, I followed the other reviewer and used milk and vanilla pudding instead of the dry milk (great substitute!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Awesome! My whole family loved these. I used the KitchenAid mixer with dough hook to mix and knead and it was very easy. The coconut filling was so tasty and my kids and I had fun learning how to work with a fresh coconut - btw one coconut yeilds enough coconut to double this recipe. When I mixed the filling it was very crumbly rather than creamy so I added a tiny bit of milk to cream it up. Note that the filling does not end up gooey like an eclair - it's drier - and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Wow!it was so easy to make.I followed exactly the instruction but for the dough,I added 2 tsps. of wheat gluten and for the filling,instead of using all purpose flour,I used corn starch.The buns turned out very soft.Yummy! Thank you,Liang,for sharing this.I would like to give this recipe a 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States