Chinese Cocktail Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Delicious. I have made them yesterday. We all loved them. The only change I made, substituted dry milk powder with vanilla instant puding mix, and since I think there is no need for aditional 1/2 cup of flour in the filling, I added 1/2 cup milk. Next time will add a little bit more for a more creamy consistency. Will certanly make again. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bitola, Pelagonia, Macedonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Awesome! My whole family loved these. I used the KitchenAid mixer with dough hook to mix and knead and it was very easy. The coconut filling was so tasty and my kids and I had fun learning how to work with a fresh coconut - btw one coconut yeilds enough coconut to double this recipe. When I mixed the filling it was very crumbly rather than creamy so I added a tiny bit of milk to cream it up. Note that the filling does not end up gooey like an eclair - it's drier - and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Wow!it was so easy to make.I followed exactly the instruction but for the dough,I added 2 tsps. of wheat gluten and for the filling,instead of using all purpose flour,I used corn starch.The buns turned out very soft.Yummy! Thank you,Liang,for sharing this.I would like to give this recipe a 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fionaellie2
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I just made these today and they turned out delicious, just like the bakery (see pic I added)! My husband was even impressed. I used dry whole milk instead of non-fat and it tasted great. Next time I will try and use different fillings, like custard or milk-n-raisin. This recipe is a keeper! The dough recipe itself is just like the Hawaiian sweet rolls. Great recipe, thanks Liang!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is a revision of my original review... torn now between 3 and 4 star (original was 4 star), but will give 4 star for benefit of the doubt. The buns were hard after sitting for several hours. This time though the dough did not deflate when I put on the egg wash. Anyone else have problems with the filling? Mine comes out still all crumbly and flaky. The recipe shows says makes 32 buns, but the recipe says it makes 16? I made 16, and I think there was so much of the filling that there was at least 1/4 cup of filling (if not more) in each, and still had a little left over. This was my 2nd attempt at this recipe. Although I gave it 4 star (for benefit of the doubt), I don't know if I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The bun came out just perfect. Everyone liked the filling. Will try red bean paste filling next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful dough for any sweet thing. I made these buns and cinnamon rolls with the same dough. It also freezes beautifully. After I put it back in the fridge to use the next day, I didn't get to it for a few days AND it still rose and baked BEAUTIFUL cinnamon rolls. BUT... There is only one thing that's missing and that's salt. It is a bit bland without adding salt. Maybe it was accidentally forgotten in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were delicious and easy to make. They were quite popular at a Chinese New Year's celebration dinner. They all disappeared within minutes. One fresh coconut was perfect for doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Just made them and extremely impressed with how they turned out! Taste exactly how the Chinese bakeries make 'em! Instead of making them oblong shape, I made them round and put black sesame instead. Also, I followed the other reviewer and used milk and vanilla pudding instead of the dry milk (great substitute!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These came out awesome. Just like the ones from the Chinese bakery. I know some reviewers were commenting that the filling were crumbly but that's how I always got them from the bakery. Love the recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States