Chinese Cocktail Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
It was very easy to make and I have them a few more times. The only modification I made to the original recipe is I added an extra 1/2 cup of butter to make the filling easier to handle and less dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
WOW! So easy and they came out perfect!This made 16 and there are 5 left and its only been 10 minutes..I have 2 small boys and a husband who are very picky and these buns taste exactly like the ones at the T&T market. Thank you for such an amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ngan_N
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I tried this recipe with taro inside. It still tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
These are really very good. Buns were soft & filling was the right consistency (it is supposed to be crumbly). I really wanted to give it 5 stars, but like another reviewer said, it seems to lack salt. Although, looking at a couple other recipes for cocktail buns, none of them had salt in the filling. Perhaps I needed to use salted butter and not unsalted? I didn't change a single thing from the instructions. I'll try to add a little salt next time and hopefully I can come back and give it 5 stars! I think that if I've never had "professional" versions of these, I might've given this 5 stars. But the filling just wasn't quite right flavorwise. Also, this is the first time I've tried to open & grate a fresh coconut. Holy cow, that part alone took me an extra hour and I nearly worked my arm off! Next time I will buy some pre packaged coconut flakes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipie I had to do for an assignment I thoughht it would not taste so good and i thought it had actual achohaul in it but it doesn't, and it tastes really good. Also appropret for school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cushing, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
These came out awesome. Just like the ones from the Chinese bakery. I know some reviewers were commenting that the filling were crumbly but that's how I always got them from the bakery. Love the recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Just made them and extremely impressed with how they turned out! Taste exactly how the Chinese bakeries make 'em! Instead of making them oblong shape, I made them round and put black sesame instead. Also, I followed the other reviewer and used milk and vanilla pudding instead of the dry milk (great substitute!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
These were delicious and easy to make. They were quite popular at a Chinese New Year's celebration dinner. They all disappeared within minutes. One fresh coconut was perfect for doubling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Wonderful dough for any sweet thing. I made these buns and cinnamon rolls with the same dough. It also freezes beautifully. After I put it back in the fridge to use the next day, I didn't get to it for a few days AND it still rose and baked BEAUTIFUL cinnamon rolls. BUT... There is only one thing that's missing and that's salt. It is a bit bland without adding salt. Maybe it was accidentally forgotten in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
The bun came out just perfect. Everyone liked the filling. Will try red bean paste filling next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States