Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Michael Hatala
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I marinated the wings for 24 hours and cooked them this evening. They were absolutely delicious. I used Liquid Aminos as opposed to soy sauce and lowered the amount to 1/2 cup. Also added 1-1/2 Tbsp Garlic Powder - 1-1/2 Tsp Ginger - 1/2 Tsp Crushed Red Pepper - 2 Tbsp Rice Vinegar. I followed the cooking directions - 45 minutes foil covered - 15 minutes uncovered then finished on the grill over coals. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Hatala

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I add 2 Tbsp of ground ginger, marinate it forever plus 5 minutes, and bake them without the sauce cause I like em crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
My grandson who is so picky eater loved these chicken wings. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I lightly battered chicken wings put them in the fryer for a few minutes, took them out, rolled them in the marinade, then put them back in until cooked. Came out tasting JUST like the wings they serve in Chinese resteraunts. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Like others I added sesame seed oil, ginger, and I also added onion powder, and I thought it was a bit too salty so maybe next time I'll use low-sodium soy sauce, or reduce it to 1 1/2 cups. Also, I didn't marinate for the recommended 8 hours...maybe about 30 minutes while I prepped my sides and it still came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made this dish for Sunday dinner today. I made a few alterations. First I made the maranade, I added three minced cloves of garlic and fresh ginger and set it to the side. I oven fried the chicken. Once the chicken was done, I dipped them in the sauce and let them cook at 400 for about 7 minutes. Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I made this dish for our at-home Chinese date night. We loved the way the chicken turned out! I used 3 whole legs, because that is what I had & didn't use as much soy sauce as it called for...my husband ate two whole servings of the chicken! I served it with white rice and broccoli/carrot stir fry. DELICIOUS!!! It is certainly something we will be eating again. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Finley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This recipe is soooo good! Very simple and delicious! Made minor changes but for me the changes were important because I do not like my food too salty. When I prepare Chinese dishes that call for soy, I cut back on the soy a little bit and add white wine and it always turns out fantastic. For this recipe , I used 1 1/2 cups of the soy and 1/2 cup of white wine. Per other suggestions on this site I added 2t of Worcestershire sauce and 1t red pepper flakes. The wings were out of this world delicious and practically fell of the bone as we ate them! Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rivahgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Wonderful flavor. I prepared the night before so marinated almost 24 hrs. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I love this recipe. I didn't have chicken wings so i used chicken tenders instead and marinated them for well over 9 hours and then baked them in the marinade so the chicken was very flavorful. the only thing i didn't like was that it was on the saltier side and it totally stunk up my kitchen. it smelled horrible but i think that might have been because i used a really cheap brand of soy sauce. i really want to make this with wings next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States