Chinese Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
3 stars as is, but I made a bunch of changes and then they were awesome. 2 cups of soy sauce made it WAY too salty!!! and i use low sodium soy sauce and put less than the full two cups but even so, it was HORRIBLY salty. I basically had to start over and this is how i made it: sautee 4-6 cloves of garlic, fresh ginger, sliced green onions, and 1-2 sliced jalapeno peppers in sesame oil. then add 1/2 c. soy sauce, 1 c. pinapple juice, and about 1/2 c brown sugar. add black pepper, red pepper flakes, white pepper, sracha sauce, and a little honey. at that pnt you can re-evaluate the soy sauce and add more if need be. i tossed my wings in this on the stove and allowed them to cook as the sauce caramelized on top of them. then took them out of the sauce and broiled them for 25 min, tossed them in the sauce on the stove again and let them cook on the stove for another 5 min, and then re-broiled for 10 minutes before serving. my wings were pre-cooked so you may need to broil for longer to cook through, but they cme out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Way too much soy sauce!! Affected both taste and consistency--not sticky. Cut soy in half or use even less. Like others, believe ginger would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The only thing wrong with this recipe, according to my husband, is that I didn't double it! Delicious & easy. We had it with Japanese Zuchini & Onions (from this site) and rice. A perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kwinon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I cut this recipe in half because I had about 2-1/2 lb. chicken wings. After reading other reviews, I substituted minced garlic for the garlic powder and added some fresh grated ginger. Marinated the wings for 6 hrs, baked as directed and they turned out great. We had some leftover and they were even better when reheated a few days later. Also, I used some of the marinade to spice up leftovers from an Asian restaurant - excellent. Just an all-around tasty sauce. Thanks, Jeanettebird, for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were not good. Company did not like, said it tasted like chicken with soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I was skeptical because the recipe is so simple and easy. But it turned out perfect! My husband raved. I will be making this again and again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marcia
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I did not use the full amount of the Soy Sauce because I ran out..plus I red many of the reviews and I did not want them to turn out too salty. I also added a few red pepper flakes and a dash or 2 of Worcestershire. This was my 1st time trying this recipe or anything remotely close to it. I am totally satisfied with the outcome. I will be adding this to my menu for a long time to come. Kudos to the adder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is very good. You will need wipes for your fingers but its worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
made them last night,very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mieko A. Ozeki
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Very good. I added garlic and ginger. The wing were delicious and fell off the bone. You have to be careful with what kind of soy sauce you get. I used a really dark soy sauce and wish I could have used a lighter soy sauce. Either way it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mieko A. Ozeki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States