Chinese Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I browned my chicken in a skillet beforehand because I like my chicken that way but that is the only change I made. I was very impressed with this soup for how easy it was to make. I might have made a mistake though because I used the season packet from the ramen and now I am not seeing where it says to do so in the directions. Regardless it was good and super easy. Next time I will try it without and see how that goes. I really liked all of the crunch the celery gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We tried this for dinner last night. It was VERY good and we will definitely be having this again. I only used 2 tsp of Thai chile paste and that was plenty spicy for us so I'd suggest adding to taste. If you don't have chicken on hand I think it could easily be left out and not affect the taste at all. This is very flavorful. I'm headed to the kitchen to have leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
We enjoyed this very much. Did make a few changes though. I added sliced dried garlic and chopped fresh mushrooms. Instead of lettuce, I used chopped fresh spinach-the taste was great, and stirred in 2 fresh eggs at the end ( like an egg drop soup). I only used 1 1/2 tsp of Asian chili paste and believe me that was HOT enough! I used wun tun noodles, but served the soup OVER them. It works very well over rice too. This soup had a wonderful flavour. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Yay! Thanks for a wonderful tasty healthy soup with a great authentic taste. I didn't have lettuce so used chard I had. And I only had Thai style green curry paste and half a Tb. of that was just hot enough for us. Otherwise, didn't add or change the amounts of ingredients. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this soup. It was very tasty. Since I didn't have any lettuce, I used a hand full of frozen spinach instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Very good! I loved this recipe, the celery is good, it adds some crunch, which I liked. Lots of flavor, and spice! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This soup is really good. I was skeptical about the lettuce, it didn't make a lot of sense to me to put cold lettuce in hot soup, so I used spinach like other reviewers and it was actually really good. Along with celery I added mushrooms and yellow onions. Upon reading a review that the celery was too crunchy, I cooked all the vegtables with the oil and spices, before adding the chicken or the chicken broth so they wouldn't be so crunchy. Also, I have never had luck finding chile paste at the grocery store, so I substituted it with sweet chile sauce and it worked great. I used ramen noodles but might try spaghetti noodles next time. This is a nice recipe to make if you have extra vegetables you don't know what to do with, as this recipe could be made using a lot more vegetables than it calls for. It smells good and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Really good. I cooked my chicken breast in some sesame oil with garlic n soy sauce and shredded it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is delicious as a base and lends itself to all kinds of variations: beef, shrimp, etc. Chop the celery fine and add it early on and it will have a chance to cook completely. I added 1 carrot finely chopped, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was a really good soup. I skipped the lettuce but otherwise didn't change a thing. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oopsalata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States