Chinese Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I hate giving this such a low rating but everyone complained about the celery, even celery lovers - like myself. When I was preparing this I knew that the celery would be a bit crunchy since it was cooking for such a short time-and I was right. I had increased this to serve 12 since it sounded so good- but got lots of celery comments!! Like - "Rita, was there a sale on celery?". Celery lovers - this soup is for you. Like others I did substitute spinach for lettuce and angel hair pasta for Ramen noodles since I ran out of ramen. If you use angel hair you can put the pasta in this soup with the chicken and then cook it for 2 min. when it comes to a boil. Angel hair is always a good substitution for ramen noodles (break the pasta in half).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I made this for lunch today and LOVED it! I eliminated the sugar and used spinach instead of the lettuce. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
We enjoyed this very much. Did make a few changes though. I added sliced dried garlic and chopped fresh mushrooms. Instead of lettuce, I used chopped fresh spinach-the taste was great, and stirred in 2 fresh eggs at the end ( like an egg drop soup). I only used 1 1/2 tsp of Asian chili paste and believe me that was HOT enough! I used wun tun noodles, but served the soup OVER them. It works very well over rice too. This soup had a wonderful flavour. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This went over real well at my house. My son gave it 5 stars. I will use low sodium soy sauce next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this soup. It was very tasty. Since I didn't have any lettuce, I used a hand full of frozen spinach instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Yay! Thanks for a wonderful tasty healthy soup with a great authentic taste. I didn't have lettuce so used chard I had. And I only had Thai style green curry paste and half a Tb. of that was just hot enough for us. Otherwise, didn't add or change the amounts of ingredients. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Really good. I cooked my chicken breast in some sesame oil with garlic n soy sauce and shredded it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I browned my chicken in a skillet beforehand because I like my chicken that way but that is the only change I made. I was very impressed with this soup for how easy it was to make. I might have made a mistake though because I used the season packet from the ramen and now I am not seeing where it says to do so in the directions. Regardless it was good and super easy. Next time I will try it without and see how that goes. I really liked all of the crunch the celery gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I like the idea of eating ramen noodles differently. However, it's a bit salty for me. I reduced the amount of soy sauce to my taste buds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2WowKids

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This soup is really good. I was skeptical about the lettuce, it didn't make a lot of sense to me to put cold lettuce in hot soup, so I used spinach like other reviewers and it was actually really good. Along with celery I added mushrooms and yellow onions. Upon reading a review that the celery was too crunchy, I cooked all the vegtables with the oil and spices, before adding the chicken or the chicken broth so they wouldn't be so crunchy. Also, I have never had luck finding chile paste at the grocery store, so I substituted it with sweet chile sauce and it worked great. I used ramen noodles but might try spaghetti noodles next time. This is a nice recipe to make if you have extra vegetables you don't know what to do with, as this recipe could be made using a lot more vegetables than it calls for. It smells good and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States