Chinese Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This went over real well at my house. My son gave it 5 stars. I will use low sodium soy sauce next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
We enjoyed this very much. Did make a few changes though. I added sliced dried garlic and chopped fresh mushrooms. Instead of lettuce, I used chopped fresh spinach-the taste was great, and stirred in 2 fresh eggs at the end ( like an egg drop soup). I only used 1 1/2 tsp of Asian chili paste and believe me that was HOT enough! I used wun tun noodles, but served the soup OVER them. It works very well over rice too. This soup had a wonderful flavour. Will make again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Yay! Thanks for a wonderful tasty healthy soup with a great authentic taste. I didn't have lettuce so used chard I had. And I only had Thai style green curry paste and half a Tb. of that was just hot enough for us. Otherwise, didn't add or change the amounts of ingredients. Recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jml

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I made this for lunch today and LOVED it! I eliminated the sugar and used spinach instead of the lettuce. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I hate giving this such a low rating but everyone complained about the celery, even celery lovers - like myself. When I was preparing this I knew that the celery would be a bit crunchy since it was cooking for such a short time-and I was right. I had increased this to serve 12 since it sounded so good- but got lots of celery comments!! Like - "Rita, was there a sale on celery?". Celery lovers - this soup is for you. Like others I did substitute spinach for lettuce and angel hair pasta for Ramen noodles since I ran out of ramen. If you use angel hair you can put the pasta in this soup with the chicken and then cook it for 2 min. when it comes to a boil. Angel hair is always a good substitution for ramen noodles (break the pasta in half).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I think this recipe has great potential, however, I used the 2 tablespoons of chile paste as the recipe stated and almost choked to death from the spiciness! I will try this recipe again, but will only use 1/2 teaspoon of the paste if any (and I love spicy foods!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I didn't have any chili paste so I used about a tablespoon of curry paste. Also didn't have any celery so just put a bag of mixed veggies in the soup. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
My family and I really enjoyed this soup. It was very tasty. Since I didn't have any lettuce, I used a hand full of frozen spinach instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great ! Except, I would make double or triple the amount, as it left my guests wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Very good! I loved this recipe, the celery is good, it adds some crunch, which I liked. Lots of flavor, and spice! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States