Chinese Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I like the idea of eating ramen noodles differently. However, it's a bit salty for me. I reduced the amount of soy sauce to my taste buds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2WowKids

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We tried this for dinner last night. It was VERY good and we will definitely be having this again. I only used 2 tsp of Thai chile paste and that was plenty spicy for us so I'd suggest adding to taste. If you don't have chicken on hand I think it could easily be left out and not affect the taste at all. This is very flavorful. I'm headed to the kitchen to have leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This was a really good soup. I skipped the lettuce but otherwise didn't change a thing. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oopsalata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is delicious as a base and lends itself to all kinds of variations: beef, shrimp, etc. Chop the celery fine and add it early on and it will have a chance to cook completely. I added 1 carrot finely chopped, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Really good. I cooked my chicken breast in some sesame oil with garlic n soy sauce and shredded it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I browned my chicken in a skillet beforehand because I like my chicken that way but that is the only change I made. I was very impressed with this soup for how easy it was to make. I might have made a mistake though because I used the season packet from the ramen and now I am not seeing where it says to do so in the directions. Regardless it was good and super easy. Next time I will try it without and see how that goes. I really liked all of the crunch the celery gave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This soup is really good. I was skeptical about the lettuce, it didn't make a lot of sense to me to put cold lettuce in hot soup, so I used spinach like other reviewers and it was actually really good. Along with celery I added mushrooms and yellow onions. Upon reading a review that the celery was too crunchy, I cooked all the vegtables with the oil and spices, before adding the chicken or the chicken broth so they wouldn't be so crunchy. Also, I have never had luck finding chile paste at the grocery store, so I substituted it with sweet chile sauce and it worked great. I used ramen noodles but might try spaghetti noodles next time. This is a nice recipe to make if you have extra vegetables you don't know what to do with, as this recipe could be made using a lot more vegetables than it calls for. It smells good and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
It was DELISHOUS!!!!! We used tomato paste and it gave it a milder taste for those who don't like spicey. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I had tons of lettuce growing in my garden and was looking for something (other than salad) to do with it. This soup turned out really good - I will be making it again. I used way more lettuce than the recipe called for, and I think it was better that way - lots of fresh crushed garlic also. I used red curry paste to taste (probably about a teaspoon) instead of the chili paste (I wasn't sure what that was), and definitely don't forget the tumeric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I made this according to the reviews. I substituted spinach for lettuce, and yellow onion for green, and I cut back to 1 tsp of chile paste (the kind I have is extremely spicy). I also doubled the amount of broth, as I didn't think it would be soupy enough for my tastes. The broth of this soup was to die for. What a wonderful taste! I loved this soup, and so did my husband. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States