Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I love this salad! DH didn't love it as much as me but he did like it. It's really flavorful! The only item I didn't have was the chili paste. I used chili sauce which I am sure isn't very much like the paste but I used it anyway. I will definitely make this again - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
So good! I did take a few recommendations and made a couple changes but still giving it 5 stars. I used one bad of cabbage mix and a head of romaine. Since I added more with the cabbage, I doubled the dressing. I didn't have chili paste so used 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. Added juice of one lime and some juice from the mandarin oranges I added to the salad....it was so good, tasted like right out of a restaurant but I knew the ingredients which is why I'd rather cook at home! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I realized at the last minute that I had no hoisin sauce, so I added a little light soy sauce, garlic paste, more ginger and some Chinese 5 spice powder, and got a similar effect (maybe a bit less salty, which is a win in my book). I used 1 tsp of the stronger flavored toasted sesame oil and the rest was grapeseed oil, for it's nice neutral flavor. The dressing was still a bit thick so I added some lime juice. As an afterthought I tossed in about a cup of edamame into the salad. I also only baked about 6 wontons, at 375 for about 10 minutes, but I actually forgot to even add them to my serving because it already looked so good! Really liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was very good but I did make some minor adjustments. I marinaded the chicken in soy sauce, hoisin, chile sauce, brown sugar and sesame oil before it was grilled. In the marinade and dressing, I used a sweet chile sauce because I didn't have hot chile paste. I really liked the crispy wonton pieces but 16 wonton wrappers would have been overkill. I used 6 and it was more than enough. And they REALLY don't need to be in the oven 20 mins. I did them at 300 for about 7 mins and they were nice and crispy and golden brown. I used a little less carrot, but added bean sprouts because I really like them and look for reasons to use them. Also added cashews for a little more crunch. The dressing was nice, I did add about 2 T orange juice to thin it a little. My parents said they felt it needed a lot more dressing, but my serving had plenty for my tastes. If you like your salad swimming in dressing, maybe increase it a little. All in all, we really liked this! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was delicious and very easy. I'm not a huge fan of peanut butter flavored dishes, so I only used 1 T peanut butter and it was great. Oh, and I used cabbage instead of romaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Thanks Teri for this terrific recipe! This tastes identical to a salad at Steamworks in Durango, CO. I tossed the dressing with cooked rice noodles and added that to the rest. It didn't need any additional dressing. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is now a staple at our house, so good and very easy to make. Thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
add coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
WOW what a amazing salad!! I used rice vinagar and peanut oil because I didnt have what recipe calls for. The results was awsome! I thought it would be too carroty but it was beauiful. And we grilled the chicken....mmm..... O yeah I made WONTON WRAP from this site try that it was delishes!! Next time I will put wonton wraps on the side because day after they were soggy and dressing in the side too. My daughter didnt like dressing so glad I put on side. Thanks for sharing my new favoriite salad!! God bless....... :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This is the BEST Chinese chicken salad EVER!!! FRiends ask for it over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiCACA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States