Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good salad. I used shrimp instead of chicken because that's what i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I already had grilled chicken breasts in the freezer, so I decided this would be good for dinner since our weather here has been super hot and humid. I did make a few changes as follows: I cut back on the chile paste because the one I have is really hot. I used dried ginger and I added yellow bell pepper that needed to be used. We’re not big fans of cilantro, so I left that out. And I used Chinese rice noodles instead of the wonton wrappers. We liked this, but I did think it was a little heavy on the hoisin sauce. And my dressing was so thick that I had to thin it with a little orange juice, which worked quite well. I would make this again cutting back a little on the hoisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Love this salad. It has great flavor and crunch. After reading reviews, I used only 1 TBL peanut butter in the dressing and added, instead of napa cabbage, about 1 cup of dry broccoli slaw mix which includes shredded carrots, red cabbage, and broccoli. That added great crunch, color, and nutrition. I baked the wontons and they added a great crunch. I agree with other reviewers that 16 wrappers would have been way too much. I used one and that was enough. I did not have any mandarin oranges. However, it was excellent without them. Thank you for a delicious salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I love this salad! DH didn't love it as much as me but he did like it. It's really flavorful! The only item I didn't have was the chili paste. I used chili sauce which I am sure isn't very much like the paste but I used it anyway. I will definitely make this again - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
So good! I did take a few recommendations and made a couple changes but still giving it 5 stars. I used one bad of cabbage mix and a head of romaine. Since I added more with the cabbage, I doubled the dressing. I didn't have chili paste so used 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. Added juice of one lime and some juice from the mandarin oranges I added to the salad....it was so good, tasted like right out of a restaurant but I knew the ingredients which is why I'd rather cook at home! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I realized at the last minute that I had no hoisin sauce, so I added a little light soy sauce, garlic paste, more ginger and some Chinese 5 spice powder, and got a similar effect (maybe a bit less salty, which is a win in my book). I used 1 tsp of the stronger flavored toasted sesame oil and the rest was grapeseed oil, for it's nice neutral flavor. The dressing was still a bit thick so I added some lime juice. As an afterthought I tossed in about a cup of edamame into the salad. I also only baked about 6 wontons, at 375 for about 10 minutes, but I actually forgot to even add them to my serving because it already looked so good! Really liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was very good but I did make some minor adjustments. I marinaded the chicken in soy sauce, hoisin, chile sauce, brown sugar and sesame oil before it was grilled. In the marinade and dressing, I used a sweet chile sauce because I didn't have hot chile paste. I really liked the crispy wonton pieces but 16 wonton wrappers would have been overkill. I used 6 and it was more than enough. And they REALLY don't need to be in the oven 20 mins. I did them at 300 for about 7 mins and they were nice and crispy and golden brown. I used a little less carrot, but added bean sprouts because I really like them and look for reasons to use them. Also added cashews for a little more crunch. The dressing was nice, I did add about 2 T orange juice to thin it a little. My parents said they felt it needed a lot more dressing, but my serving had plenty for my tastes. If you like your salad swimming in dressing, maybe increase it a little. All in all, we really liked this! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was delicious and very easy. I'm not a huge fan of peanut butter flavored dishes, so I only used 1 T peanut butter and it was great. Oh, and I used cabbage instead of romaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Thanks Teri for this terrific recipe! This tastes identical to a salad at Steamworks in Durango, CO. I tossed the dressing with cooked rice noodles and added that to the rest. It didn't need any additional dressing. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is now a staple at our house, so good and very easy to make. Thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States