Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this without the wontons to save on calories. I also used a healthy amount of chilie garlic paste and a touch of sriracha to add spice. It was thick and tasty. Might add a touch more cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
We included this salad in the food served at our backyard party, our goal being to prepare foods that could be served cold whenever everyone climbed out of the pool and wanted to eat. The dressing was a little too strong for our tastes, but having read the reviews, I also included the lime vinaigrette, with just a drizzle of the hoisin-peanut dressing, and it worked perfectly that way. We would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Really delcious! As one user suggested, I added a lime vinegarette to the lettuce (see below). http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lime-cilantro-vinaigrette/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=lime%20vinegarette&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Glad to have this recipe finally after eating this incredible salad. It was a little on the milder side (it is usually hotter when ordered in a Chinese restaurant). I will add red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Tasted fabulous. I would probably add some oil or something to thin the dressing out a little as it was a bit pasty. But delicious nonetheless! I actually made extra of this honey chicken recipe and simply made the salad with leftovers http://allrecipes.com/recipe/yummy-honey-chicken-kabobs/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
bf liked this more than i did.. i felt the dressing was a lil too peanut-y for me.. but we had no problems devouring the whole thing.. used ramen in place of the wonton wrappers.. i totally forgot the carrots.. doh!.. didn't have the brown sugar so i just left it out.. used bbq sauce in place of hoisin.. used dried instead of fresh ginger.. ty for the recipe ~~~~UPDATE.. so i did this a second time.. and figured i probably just used too much PB the first time.. but even after going strictly by the PB amount.. it was still too much PB for me.. only change to the dressing this time was to double the chili sauce.. added half a cup of bean sprouts.. 10 baby corn chopped up.. doubled the cilantro.. forgot the ramen ugh.. and only had 3/4 lb of chicken breast.. i liked it MUCH more this time..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I loved this, but my husband thought the peanut dressing was too sweet, and the kids just didn't care for peanut in their salad. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This recipe is great, as is! I did use ready-made chow mein noodles to save time. I also typically grill chicken breasts in advance, then slice then, put a portion in snack-sized zip lock bags, then freeze them for use on salads later. I take a pkg out of freezer and put in microwave for 45-60 seconds when I want some for a salad. I also per-grate ginger and wrap 1 tsp portions in plastic wrap, then put them all in a labeled zip lock and when needed, I put a tsp pkg in microwave for 15 seconds. This way I also have access to fresh grated / chopped ginger without a lot of work. For the grated carrots, either grate last or sprinkle with lemon juice to slow down the oxidizing which causes them to go brown quickly after grating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Awesome salad!! That dressing is SO GOOD!!! I subbed the hoisin sauce because I didn't know I was out with ponzu sauce with a little extra brown suger. Love the crunchy wonton wrappers! Added some sesame seeds on top! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States